Bacon Denies Ballou in Spring Classic


The Wheatley Chronicles – Volume III, No. 34

Lonnie Wheatley, HAUBSTADT, Ind. (April 18, 2015) – Robert Ballou has proven difficult to beat in recent times at Tri-State Speedway, picking up three wins at the southwest Indiana clay oval last season alone.

Brady Bacon wasn’t about to let Ballou get off to another hot Tri-State start though, outlasting Ballou’s bids through traffic to win Saturday night’s 30-lap USAC National Sprint Car series/MSCS “Spring Classic” main event.

After the initial green flag was waved off, Bacon battled past Tracy Hines and Kyle Cummins into the lead by the fourth round from his fourth starting position with Ballou working in quick fashion as well from seventh to second in just a handful of laps.

And as traffic came into play in the frantically paced event, Ballou dialed up the intensity with each passing lap.

Ballou ultimately snuck under Bacon for the lead exiting turn two on the 22nd lap, only to bobble in turns three and four to re-open the door for Bacon, who raced right through.

While Bacon and Ballou raced through traffic, Kevin Thomas, Jr., finally broke away from a third-place tussle with Cummins and was closing in on the lead duo, only to do a 360-spin in turn two after contact with a lapped car, precipitating a caution.

Ballou tried to mount a charge on Bacon over the final seven rounds, but to no avail as the reigning USAC National champion from Broken Arrow, OK, held on to post his fifth overall win of the year and second in USAC National action.

“Robert always goes good here so it’s good to be able to beat him,” Bacon said. “When he got by, he kinda got caught up there with that lapped car and slid high, that gave me a chance to get back under.”

Ballou settled for second with Cummins in third. Brady Short and current USAC Sprint Car points leader Chase Stockon rounded out the top five.

The Vitals…                                                           

Series: USAC / MSCS non-wing Sprint Cars

Track: Tri-State Speedway (Haubstadt, IN)

Car Count: 24

Quick Time: The 14th of 24 to time in, Dave Darland set the standard by stopping the clocks at 13.677 seconds.

Heat Winners (starting position in parentheses): Robert Ballou (4), Brady Short (3), Brady Bacon (6).

Heat Moments: The only caution flew when Jon Stanbrough came to a stop in turn three with problems in the first heat. Ballou wheelied his way to a win in the first heat, Brady Short checked out in heat two and Brady Bacon battled through the field from sixth to take in impressive heat win.

“B” Main Winner (starting position in parentheses): Justin Grant (2).

“B” Main Moments: Seven of nine transferred in the non-stop 12-lapper with Grant out front all the way.

“A” Main Cautions: Two

Opening Lap – James Lyerla and Donny Bracket tangle in turn three, both rejoin the field at the tail.

Lap 23 – After contact with a lapper, third-running Kevin Thomas, Jr., loops it in two to bring out a caution.

“A” Main Hard Charger: Carson Short rallied from the 21st starting position to finish 10th.

The Box Score…

Qualifying: 1. 71p-Dave Darland 13.677, 2. 04x-Jeff Bland, Jr. 13.692, 3. 69-Brady Bacon 13.715, 4. 17rw-Kevin Thomas, Jr. 13.734, 5. 4-Tracy Hines, 13.740, 6. 3r-Kyle Cummins 13.795, 7. 12-Robert Ballou 13.830, 8. 30-C.J. Leary 13.850, 9. 5b-Chase Briscoe 13.912, 10. 15F-Aaron Farney 13.937, 11. 11p-Brady Short 14.006, 12. 32-Chase Stockon 14.016, 13. 81-Jon Stanbrough 14.043, 14. 40-Justin Grant 14.084, 15. 12h-Ted Hines 14.090, 16. 29-Logan Jarrett 14.110, 17. 66-Shane Cockrum 14.203, 18. 4b-Donny Brackett 14.368, 19. 11-James Lyerla 14.422, 20. 38-Chet Williams 14.427, 21. 21-Carson Short 14.568, 22. 21h-Travis Hery 14.729, 23. 71-Robert Bell 15.701, 24. 27-Brian Wallace 17.525.

Heat One (10 Laps): 1. 12-Robert Ballou, 2. 71p-Dave Darland, 3. 29-Logan Jarrett, 4. 15F-Aaron Farney, 5. 17rw-Kevin Thomas, Jr., 6. 11-James Lyerla, 7. 21h-Travis Hery, 8. 81-Jon Stanbrough.

Heat Two (10 Laps): 1.11p-Brady Short, 2. 30-C.J. Leary, 3. 04x-Jeff Bland, Jr., 4. 4-Tracy Hines, 5. 66-Shane Cockrum, 6. 40-Justin Grant, 7. 38-Chet Williams, 8. 71-Robert Bell.

Heat Three (10 Laps): 1. 69-Brady Bacon, 2. 4b-Donny Brackett, 3. 3r-Kyle Cummins, 4. 32-Chase Stockon, 5. 5-Chase Briscoe, 6. 21-Carson Short, 7. 12h-Ted Hines, 8. 27-Brian Wallace.

“B” Main (12 Laps – 7 Advance): 1. 40-Justin Grant, 2. 21-Carson Short, 3. 81-Jon Stanbrough, 4. 11-James Lyerla, 5. 12h-Ted Hines, 6. 38-Chet Williams, 7. 21h-Travis Hery, 8. 71-Robert Bell, 9. 27-Brian Wallace.

“A” Main Finish (30 Laps): 1. 69-Brady Bacon (4), 2. 12-Robert Ballou (7), 3. 3r-Kyle Cummins (1), 4. 11p-Brady Short (11), 5. 32-Chase Stockon (12), 6. 4-Tracy Hines (2), 7. 71p-Dave Darland (6), 8. 17rw-Kevin Thomas, Jr. (3), 9. 30-C.J. Leary (8), 10. 21-Carson Short (21), 11. 5-Chase Briscoe (9), 12. 15F-Aaron Farney (10), 13. 81-Jon Stanbrough (13), 14. 29-Logan Jarrett (16), 15. 12h-Ted Hines (2), 16. 66-Shane Cockrum (17), 17. 38-Chet Williams (20), 18. 4b-Donny Brackett (18), 19. 40-Justin Grant (14), 20. 11-James Lyerla (19), 21. 04x-Jeff Bland, Jr. (5), 22. 21h-Travis Hery (22).

Lap leaders: Tracy Hines 1-2, Kyle Cummins 3, Brady Bacon 4-30.