Ballou Blisters USAC at Lakeside

The Wheatley Chronicles – Volume III, No. 37

Lonnie Wheatley, KANSAS CITY, Kan. (April 26, 2015) – It was a hint of old days at Lakeside Speedway on Sunday night.

But instead of Robert Ballou putting up W’s with the olden Sprint Bandits Tour ‘N Topless series like he did at the big half-mile back in 2007 and 2008, this time it was against the Amsoil USAC National Sprint Car series along with the Missouri-based WAR gang.

And the Rocklin, CA, native left little doubt about it, treading the treacherous top of the topside where nobody else dared venture for 30 laps. Stalking third in the early rounds, as soon as traffic came into play Ballou raced past Chase Stockon in turns one and two and then around early leader Tracy Hines a half lap later in three and four to take command on the eighth round.

From there, it was just a Robert Ballou thrill show out front with the “Madman” of wingless circles slicing through lapped traffic at a harrowing rate en route to the $5,000 payday aboard the Don Ott-powered No. 12 Maxim.

“I’ve been looking forward to this one since they put it on the schedule,” Ballou said. “I’ve been 50/50 here, I’ve either won or destroyed a car, usually in turn three. Last time I was here, I didn’t win.”

Ballou held more than a straightaway advantage when the race’s only caution flew after 18 laps.

And with a handful of lapped cars between himself and second-runner Stockon, the lead was nearly half-a-lap when Ballou resumed picking off lappers with a half dozen to go.

While Ballou dominated, leaving a High Fly’N Go-Pro somewhere along the way, current USAC points leader Stockon and reigning champ Brady Bacon battled it out for runner-up honors over the closing rounds.

After swapping the position several times, Stockon came away with second while Bacon settled for third. Dave Darland and Kevin Thomas, Jr., rounded out the top five.

The Vitals…                                                           

Series: USAC / WAR non-wing Sprint Cars

Track: Lakeside Speedway (Kansas City, KS)

Car Count: 32

Quick Time: The fourth out among the 32 car field, Dave Darland set the standard at 17.675 seconds.

Heat Winners (starting position in parentheses): Dave Darland (6), Chase Stockon (5), Tracy Hines (5), C.J. Leary (5).

Heat Moments: Aaron Farney biked it and flipped in turn three in the opening heat race, with each heat race winner coming from the third row of the six-car inversion.

“B” Main Winner (starting position in parentheses): Riley Kreisel (2).

“B” Main Moments: In just his second Sprint Car start, Kreisel wired the field in a 12-lapper that was interrupted by one inconsequential caution after two laps.

“A” Main Cautions: One

Lap 18 – Tracy Hines spins to a stop off turn four after right front contact with Bacon’s left rear while battling for third. After a right front tire change, Hines rejoined the chase at the tail as the tenth and final car on the lead lap and moved back up to eighth.

“A” Main Hard Charger:  WAR shoe Danny Thoman gets the nod by gaining seven positions with a run from 21st to 14th.


The Box Score…

Qualifying: 1. 71d-Dave Darland 17.675, 2. 69-Brady Bacon 17.703, 3. 81-Jon Stanbrough 17.866, 4. 12-Robert Ballou 17.872, 5. 15f-Aaron Farney 17.986, 6. 32-Chase Stockon 18.094, 7. 4-Tracy Hines 18.187, 8. 30-C.J. Leary 18.223, 9. 2x-Casey Shuman 18.281, 10. 17rw-Kevin T1homas, Jr. 18.365, 11. 24-Landon Simon 18.375, 12. 21x-Chris Windom 18.419, 13. 18-Jarett Andretti 18.593, 14. 90-Riley Kreisel 18.768, 15. 24x-Ricky Stangl 18.937, 16. 75-Chris Parkinson 19.093, 17. 97-Bret Mellenberndt 19.415, 18. 11-Ryan Kitchen 19.458, 19. 42-Warren Johnson 19.480, 20. 09-Josh Stephens 19.679, 21. 27-Danny Thoman 19.754, 22. 0-Alex Schriever 19.925, 23. 20-Steve Thomas 20.017, 24. 69x-Mike Moore 20.046, 25. 7jr-Robert Black 20.099, 26. 8-Jeff Wingate 20.175, 27. 12x-John Helm 20.524, 28. 41-Scott Comstock 20.564, 29. 99-Mike Ell 20.620, 30. 55-Ken Potter 21.141, 31. 71-Robert Bell 21.155, 32. 13-Clyde Knipp 21.230.

Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 71p-Dave Darland, 2. 97-Bret Mellenberndt, 3. 2x-Casey Shuman, 4. 18-Jarett Andretti, 5. 27-Danny Thoman, 6. 7jr-Robert Black, 7. 99-Mike Ell, 8. 15f-Aaron Farney.

Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 32-Chase Stockon, 2. 17rw-Kevin Thomas, Jr., 3. 69-Brady Bacon, 4. 11-Ryan Kitchen, 5. 90-Riley Kreisel, 6. 0-Alex Schriever, 7. 55-Ken Potter, 8. 8-Jeff Wingate.

Heat Three (8 Laps): 1. 4-Tracy Hines, 2. 81-Jon Stanbrough, 3. 24-Landon Simon, 4. 24x-Ricky Stangl, 5. 42-Warren Johnson, 6. 12x-John Helm, 7. 71-Robert Bell, 8. 20-Steve Thomas.

Heat Four (8 Laps): 1. 30-C.J. Leary, 2. 12-Robert Ballou, 3. 75-Chris Parkinson, 4. 21x-Chris Windom, 5. 69x-Mike Moore, 6. 09-Josh Stephens, 7. 13-Clyde Knipp, 8. 41-Scott Comstock.

“B” Main (12 Laps – 6 Advance): 1. 90-Riley Kreisel, 2. 15f-Aaron Farney, 3.42-Warren Johnson, 4. 69x-Mike Moore, 5. 09-Josh Stephens, 6. 27-Danny Thoman, 7. 12x-John Helm, 8. 7jr-Robert Black, 9. 8-Jeff Wingate, 10. 71-Robert Bell, 11. 55-Ken Potter, 12. 20-Steve Thomas, 13. 99-Mike Ell, 14. 0-Alex Schriever, 15. 41-Scott Comstock, 16. 13-Clyde Knipp

“A” Main Finish (30 Laps): 1. 12-Robert Ballou (3), 2. 32-Chase Stockon (2), 3. 69-Brady Bacon (5), 4. 71p-Dave Darland (6), 5. 17rw-Kevin Thomas, Jr. (10), 6. 81-Jon Stanbrough (4), 7. 30-C.J. Leary (8), 8. 4-Tracy Hines (1), 9. 21x-Chris Windom (12), 10. 2x-Casey Shuman (9), 11. 15f-Aaron Farney (7), 12. 18-Jarett Andretti (13), 13. 24-Landon Simon (11), 14. 27-Danny Thoman (21), 15. 90-Riley Kreisel (14), 16. 11-Ryan Kitchen (18), 17. 09-Josh Stephens (22), 18. 69x-Mike Moore (22), 19. 75-Chris Parkinson (16), 20. 24x-Ricky Stangl (15), 21. 42-Warren Johnson (19), 22. 97-Bret Mellenberndt (17).

Lap leaders: Tracy Hines 1-7, Robert Ballou 8-30.

The Wheatley Chronicles brings insight and highlights from all variety of racing series throughout the nation in 2015 and beyond along with the Open Wheel Power Rankings on a regular basis. Please send any comments, questions or advertising inquiries regarding The Wheatley Chronicles at to Lonnie Wheatley at