Croft Bings Cali Flavor to Short Track Nationals

Lonnie Wheatley, LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (October 3, 2017) – I-30 Speedway’s COMP Cams Short Track Nationals presented by Hoosier Tires annually brings the best-of-the-best from throughout the nation to battle it out for a $15,000 winner’s share atop the high-banked, ¼-mile clay oval.

This year’s 30th edition of the crown jewel event that will distribute in excess of $100,000 in purse money over the October 12-14 weekend after a Wednesday night Test ‘N Tune session will be no exception as teams and fans from across the land flock to Arkansas’ capital city.

Among those is Roseville, California racer Willie Croft, who will venture to Little Rock’s I-30 Speedway for the first time.

Croft will try to add another crown jewel event triumph to his mantel after earning 2014 Trophy Cup honors at Tulare’s Thunderbowl Raceway.

A top competitors in both 410-ci and 360-ci action along the west coast, Croft currently holds down second in California’s Sprint Car Challenge Tour points.

Croft will look to add his name to a list of STN winners that includes the likes of four-time and defending event champ Sammy Swindell, current Craftsman NASCAR truck star Christopher Bell, Paul McMahan, Brad Sweet, Tony Bruce, Jr., Jason Meyers, Jason Johnson, Tim Montgomery, Gary Wright, Jason Sides, Mike Ward, Tim Crawley, Wayne Johnson, Pete Butler, Terry Gray, John Gerloff and Steve Kinser.

Drivers entering by the pre-entry deadline of Friday, October 6, will receive a free pit pass for Thursday through Saturday.  Pre-entry is $150.  Entry fee for those entering after October 6 is $250 with no driver pit pass.  Entry forms are available at

Last year, Sprint Car racing legend Sammy Swindell matched Gary Wright atop the all-time STN win charts by racing to his fourth triumph in the prestigious event.  Swindell’s fourth win, coming ahead of Pennsylvania’s Tim Shaffer and reigning Knoxville Nationals champion Jason Johnson, followed previous triumphs in 2013, 2011 and 1990.

The Pertinent Info:

The What:  30th Annual COMP Cams Short Track Nationals presented by Hoosier Tires.

The Where:  I-30 Speedway (Little Rock, AR).  I-30 Speedway is located seven miles southwest of Little Rock off I-30 Exit 126 (Alexander Road).

The When:  October 12-14, 2017, following a Wednesday, October 11, Test ‘N Tune session.

The Entries:  Entry forms are available at  Entry is $150 if entered by October 26, or $250 after October 6.  Entries submitted by October 6 receive one free driver pit pass for Thursday, Friday and Saturday.

Checks, money orders and cashier’s checks are accepted and may be mailed to I-30 Speedway c/o Tracey Clay, 13219 Interstate 30, Little Rock AR 72209, made payable to Tracey Clay.

The Format:  All competitors will be eligible to compete on either or both of the Thursday and Friday qualifying nights (no split field) after a Wednesday night Test ‘N Tune.

The top three from each qualifying night will be locked into Saturday night’s $15,000-to-win, $2,000-to-start STN Championship Finale.  Those six drivers will battle it out in Saturday’s Pack’s Dash for Cash to determine the alignment of the front three rows of the championship main event.

The balance of the field will be aligned in Saturday night heats according to their top qualifying night score.  Additional points will be awarded in Saturday heats to set the balance of the Saturday night feature lineups.

While the STN finale offers a minimum of $2,000 to each starter, “B” Main non-transfers earn $700 for first non-transfer, $650 for second non-transfer and $600 for remaining non-transfers while “C” Main non-transfers earn $500 for first non-transfer, $450 for second non-transfers and $400 for remaining non-transfers.

Top non-transfers from Saturday night “C” Mains (2 or 3 depending on number of “C” Mains) move on to the “Red Shirt Dash” in honor of Lanny Edwards.  The “Red Shirt Dash” will pay $500, $100, $100, $100, $100, $100.

The Past Winners: 

2016-Sammy Swindell

2015-Rained Out

2014-Christopher Bell

2013-Sammy Swindell

2012-Paul McMahan

2011-Sammy Swindell

2010-Brad Sweet

2009-Tony Bruce, Jr.

2008-Tony Bruce, Jr.

2007-Jason Meyers

2006-Jason Johnson

2005-Tim Montgomery

2004-Gary Wright

2003-Gary Wright

2002-Paul McMahan

2001-Jason Sides

2000-Mike Ward

1999-Gary Wright

1998-Tim Crawley

1997-Wayne Johnson

1996-Pete Butler

1995-Gary Wright

1994-Terry Gray

1993-John Gerloff

1992-Rained Out

1991-Steve Kinser

1990-Sammy Swindell

1989-Steve Kinser

1988-Steve Kinser

The Tickets:  Advance tickets for all three nights (Thursday, Friday and Saturday) are on sale for just $55 if paying cash or $57 if paying via PayPal or credit/debit card.

Day of show prices are $20 on Thursday and Friday and $28 on Saturday plus a $1 processing fee per ticket if paying by credit/debit card.

Children’s tickets will be available at the event only for just $2 on Thursday and Friday and then $5 on Saturday plus a $1 processing fee per ticket if paying by credit/debit card.

To order tickets in advance or for more information, check online at www.i-30speedway or call the track at 501-455-4567.

Pit passes are $15 on Wednesday, $35 on Thursday and Friday and then $40 on Saturday.  Driver pit pass for Thursday/Friday/Saturday is included in the $150 entry fee if submitted by the deadline.

For more information regarding I-30 Speedway’s Short Track Nationals, check at or call the track at 501-455-4567.