Dewease Sails to Another Port Win

PORT ROYAL, Pa. (July 15, 2017) – Lance Dewease topped Saturday night’s Sprint Car main event at Port Royal Speedway.

Impressively in the sprint car main, the top five finishers of Dewease, Greg Hodnett, Lucas Wolfe, Dylan Cisney and Blane Heimbach started ninth, eighth, 10th, 11th and 19th, respectively.

Polesitter Anthony Fiore led the first lap of the 25-lap sprint car main before second starter Tyler Walker took over on the second tour with Kody Lehman in third and Dewease already up to fourth after a mile of racing.

Dewease motored into third with five away while Lehman too advanced to be up to second.

Lehman caught Walker for the lead on the sixth tour and took a stab at control only to see Walker’s momentum carry him back into the lead as Dewease took advantage and then relegated Lehman to third.

And then in the blink of an eye Dewease threw his No. 69K to the inside of Walker in the first and second turns to simply jet away with the lead on the backstretch.

The pace was slowed after the seventh lap was completed when Steve Buckwalter stopped on the frontchute and Dewease was back up to speed on the restart, motoring out to a 5.4 second lead by the halfway point.

Another restart just after halfway found Greg Hodnett up to second with a clear shot at Dewease but to no avail.

Dewease pulled away over the ensuing laps and had a 1.9 second lead with 10 laps to go.

With five laps to go Dewease was again into the backmarkers, with a 2.3 second lead but during those final laps the leader would start “hanging” in the corners, allowing Hodnett to dramatically slice into his advantage.

Hodnett would indeed run down Dewease for the win but time ran out with Dewease taking his fourth win of the year at the track and 104th of his career by .537 seconds at the finish.

Lucas Wolfe got around Dylan Cisney for third in the final two laps with Cisney ending up fourth and a passing clinic by Blane Heimbach placing him fifth at the finish.

Sixth through 10th went to Walker, Carl Bowser, Brock Zearfoss, Lehman and TJ Stutts.

Heats went to Fiore, Buckwalter and Zearfoss with Heimbach taking the consolation race.

Feature Finishes

410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Lance Dewease, 2. Greg Hodnett, 3. Lucas Wolfe, 4. Dylan Cisney, 5. Blane Heimbach, 6. Tyler Walker, 7. Carl Bowser, 8. Brock Zearfoss, 9. Kody Lehman, 10. TJ Stutts, 11. Mike Wagner, 12. Kyle Reinhardt, 13. Coleman Gulick, 14. Anthony Fiore, 15. Logan Wagner, 16. Cale Grubb, 17. AJ Flick, 18. Curt Stroup, 19. Jared Esh, 20. Daryl Stimeling, 21. Joey Hershey, 22. Jimmy Seger, 23. Steve Buckwalter, 24. Tyler Bear

DNQ: Mike Erdley, Cory Thornton

—From Port Royal Speedway PR