Dietrich Takes Labor Day Honors at Port Royal

PORT ROYAL, Pa. (September 5, 2016) – Danny Dietrich of Gettysburg won the 65th annual Labor Day Classic for sprint cars on Monday afternoon at Port Royal Speedway, taking his second victory in the oval event after taking his first in 2014.

Ironically, both wins came aboard a replica Weikert’s Livestock No. 29 sprint car are his only career victories at the track.

Monday’s win was worth $4,000.

Port Royal driver Dylan Cisney had the pole for the 25-lap Labor Day Classic for sprints and took the lead on the first lap ahead of Dietrich and defending event winner Brent Marks.

Marks got by Dietrich for second on the second tour and quickly ran down Cisney to make a pass for the lead with four away.

Once in front, Marks began driving away from the field, jetting around the first and second turns using a narrowing topside moisture strip that got a bit too narrow on the 10th tour when he hopped up over it and slammed the outside turn two wall.

That misfortune sidelined him for the rest of the event and handed the lead to Dietrich with Cisney now second and ninth starter Greg Hodnett up to third.

Hodnett got around Cisney for second with 11 laps to go but had to run down Dietrich who had built up over a straightaway lead by that point.

But steadily Hodnett did cut away the advantage to be caught up with the leader with a lap to go.

However a final lap clash never materialized as Dietrich stayed just far enough out of reach to prevent a last ditch, final turn effort by Hodnett to steal the win.

The victory was Dietrich’s seventh overall this season in area action.

Point leader Doug Esh, who started 12th ended up a challenging third followed by Ryan Smith and Brock Zearfoss.

Sixth through 10th went to Lucas Wolfe, Aaron Ott, Cisney, TJ Stutts and Joey Hershey.

Heats went to Marks, Dietrich and Smith.

Feature finish:

410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Danny Dietrich, 2. Greg Hodnett, 3. Doug Esh, 4. Ryan Smith, 5. Brock Zearfoss, 6. Lucas Wolfe, 7. Aaron Ott, 8. Dylan Cisney, 9. TJ Stutts, 10. Joey Hershey, 11. Daryl Stimeling, 12. Steve Buckwalter, 13. Curt Stroup, 14. Mike Wagner, 15. Vince Snyder, 16. Cale Grubb, 17. George Streaker, 18. Troy Fraker, 19. Karl Baker, 20. Carl Bowser, 21. Blane Heimbach, 22. Brent Marks, 23. AJ Flick, 24. Kody Lehman