Hagen Holds Midget Power Rankings Lead

The Wheatley Chronicles – Volume III, No. 64

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (July 20, 2015) – Riverside, California native Darren Hagen has extended his lead in the latest edition of the www.midgetmadness.com Midget Power Rankings.

Currently atop POWRi National points and fifth in USAC National points, Hagen has added four top-fives over the past three weekends to extend his lead to 65 points over Christopher Bell. Bell, who added his sixth Midget win of the year with a Belle-Clair score on July 12, has topped the Midget Power Rankings over each of the past two years.

Bell’s Belle-Claire triumph kept him just ahead of Keith Kunz stablemate Tanner Thorson with Spencer Bayton making the jump past car owner Bryan Clauson for fourth.

There are several new names among the top 25 including Trevor Kobylarz, who makes a jump from 52nd to 16th, along with Ronnie Gardner, Anton Hernandez, Frankie Guerrini and Danny Stratton.

(Photo courtesy of TeeJay Crawford)

A look at the www.midgetmadness.com Midget Mid-Season Power Rankings Top 50 through July 19…

11Darren HagenRiverside, CA3317
22Christopher BellNorman, OK6252
33Tanner ThorsonMinden, NV2246
45Spencer BaystonLafayette, IN2242
54Bryan ClausonNoblesville, IN4227
67Andrew FelkerCarl Junction, MO3223
76Rico AbreuRutherford, CA3191
88Tyler ThomasCollinsville, OK1154
99Kevin Thomas, Jr.Cullman, AL2126
1010Jerry Coons, Jr.Tucson, AZ1111
1113Austin BrownMillstadt, IL097
12-tie11Zach DaumPocahontas, IL091
12-tie12Tracy HinesNew Castle, IN077
1417Kyle SchuettUrbana, IL077
1523Steven DrevickiReading, PA076
1652Trevor KobylarzBirdsboro, PA076
1733Ronnie GardnerNorco, CA271
1814Blake HahnSapulpa, OK071
1915Ryan BernalHollister, CA070
2022Keith RauchDenver, CO569
2140Anton HernandezArlington, TX169
2216Kevin SwindellGermantown, TN067
2329Frankie GuerriniSan Rafael, CA265
2426Danny StrattonRiverside, CA161
2518Kyle LarsonElk Grove, CA161
2681Ryan GrethShartlesville, PA359
2739Nick ChivelloManteca, CA159
2848Justin PeckMonrovia, IN058
2919Daryn PittmanOwasso, OK058
3024Alex BrightCollegeville, PA057
3120Andrew DealCaney, KS057
3236Nick WeanPhilipsburg, NJ056
3321Brad LoyetSunset Hills, MO055
3468Cody BrewerChoctaw, OK052
3564Daniel RobinsonWayne City, IL052
3677Bruce Buckwalter, Jr.Royersford, PA151
3725Sammy SwindellGermantown, TN051
3843Tim BuckwalterPottstown, PA350
3954Michael FaccintoHanford, CA249
4027Damion GardnerConcord, CA049
4128Chett GehrkeBroken Arrow, OK148
4246Gage WalkerIndianapolis, IN047
4332P.J. GargiuloMorton, PA145
4456Kevin BayerBixby, OK145
4530Brian GardKelseyville, CA144
4631Jake NeumanNew Berlin, IL044
47-tie45Tucker KlaasmeyerPaola, KS042
47-tie86Ryan RobinsonForesthill, CA042
4934Dave DarlandLincoln, IN042
5084Justin GrantIone, CA041

Features Completed: 69

Number of Different Winners: 38

Number of Drivers to Earn Points: 212

Title sponsor of the Midget Power Rankings, www.midgetmadness.com is the leading source of headline news, results and more for Midget racing throughout the world.

A part of the recurring “The Wheatley Chronicles” series of articles on www.sprintcarmania.com, the Open Wheel Power Rankings are determined by cumulative points based on a sliding scale dependent upon car count at Sprint Car and Midget events across all sanctions and non-sanctions throughout North America.

The Wheatley Chronicles brings insight and highlights from all variety of racing series throughout the nation in 2015 and beyond along with the Open Wheel Power Rankings on a regular basis. Please send any comments, questions or advertising inquiries regarding The Wheatley Chronicles at www.sprintcarmania.com to Lonnie Wheatley at lonniewheatley@gmail.com.