Hodnett the Top Tuesday New Egyptian

NEW EGYPT, N.J. (August 25, 2015) – The fifth running of the JERSEY RUSH, on Tuesday night, at the New Egypt Speedway was nothing short of spectacular with Greg Hodnett winning a thriller over JJ Grasso. Hodnett of Thomasville, PA led all thirty laps of the 410 sprint feature but was pressured throughout the second half of the race, with Grasso in the hunt. Hodnett earned $5,000 for the victory, his first ever 410 sprint car win at New Egypt.

In the 410 Sprint Car feature event, Hodnett launched from the top starting spot with Robbie Stillwaggon right on his tail and Davey Sammons moving into the third position. Kunkletown, PA’s Ryan Smith — while in the seventh position — launched over the wheel of another competitor and flipped, spectacularly, over the turn four guardrail landing between the guardrail and the catch fence. Smith walked away uninjured.

After a twenty minute delay in the action to remove Smith’s car, Hodnett took control on the restart with Lance Dewease powering into the second position and former two-time Jersey Rush winner, JJ Grasso moving into the third position. Dewease and Grasso battled back and forth swapping the second spot leading just passed the halfway point. Grasso, on a tear, battled in between lapped cars and gained quickly on Hodnett, challenging the leader as the five-to-go signal approached – and pulling alongside Hodnett in the closing laps of the event, but it was Hodnett capturing the checkered flag over Grasso, Davey Sammons in third, Danny Dietrich in fourth and Lance Dewease rounding out the top 5.

A field of twenty-six 410 sprints took time trials with defending winner Ryan Smith earning a $100 bonus for setting fast time with a time of 13.785. Oliver Communications posted $200 to the heat race winners with Danny Dietrich, Greg Hodnett and Steve Buckwalter taking the sprint car heat wins. Consolations were won by Mike Haggenbottom and the Thayer Performance Hard Charger award was won by Mark Bitner.

JERSEY RUSH V FEATURE FINISH: Greg Hodnett, JJ Grasso, Davey Sammons, Danny Dietrich, Lance Dewease, Steve Buckwalter, Kyle Reinhardt, Mark Bitner, Brian Carber, Robbie Stillwaggon, Davie Franek,Kevin Ngy, Joe Trenca, Rick Lafferty, Ed Aikin, Troy Betts, Anthony Fiore, Mike Haggenbottom, Wayne Dadetto, Brett Michalski, Bradley Howard, Bob Howard, Brad Franks, Ryan Smith. DNQ: Karl Fryer, Bill Unglert.

(Photo courtesy of Rick Sweeten)