Madman at Ocala!

Lonnie Wheatley, OCALA, Fla. (February 6, 2015) – Last lap dramatics were in order for Friday night’s All Star Circuit of Champions opener at Bubba Raceway Park with Kerry Madsen stealing the win away from Aaron Reutzel on the final circuit of the 30-lapper.

Taking advantage of a restart with three laps to go, “The Madman” railed the topside of the track in turns one and two to race by Reutzel on the final round to snare the $5,000 triumph aboard the American Racing No. 29.

“I just wanted to win,” Madsen summed up in victory lane. “I threw a big Hail Mary and it worked out.”

While Madsen was no better than third until the 27th lap, Reutzel led the way in the BC Fundz No. 87 from the second lap after Caleb Armstrong tagged the turn four guardrail while leading from the front row outside.

After a red flag with two laps in the books for Brad Howard’s backstretch flip, Reutzel led the way in front of Danny Smith with Madsen surrendering third to Tim Shaffer on the ninth round.

Reutzel worked through heavy mid-race traffic and had things in command as Madsen battled back around Shaffer for third just past the midway point. Madsen reeled in Smith to challenge for second and made the pass with the leaders in heavy traffic on the 27th round, with Smith then sliding too high and clipping the wall exiting turn four to bring out one final caution.  A caution that proved costly to Reutzel.

With a balky engine, Reutzel tried to no avail to fend off Madsen, who charged by on the high side on the final round.

“We didn’t need that last caution, the motor wouldn’t even go,” Reutzel said afterward.

Shaffer rounded out the podium in third with Steve Kinser and Chad Kemenah rounding out the top five. Wayne Johnson was the night’s Hard Charger by racing from 16th to sixth in the feature.

Steve Buckwalter turned in the night’s top time in qualifying with a lap of 12.868 seconds before Shaffer, Smith and Reutzel topped heat race action. Reutzel won the Dash to earn the pole position for the feature.

(Photo courtesy of Gene Marderness)

All Star Circuit of Champions – Friday, February 6, 2015 Results:

Qualifying: 1. I07-Steve Buckwalter 12.868, 2. 11-Steve Kinser 12.880, 3. 10h-Chad Kemenah 12.951, 4. 29-Kerry Madsen 12.959, 5. 9p-Parker Price-Miller 12.975, 6. 14k-Dale Blaney 13.120, 7. 45-Tim Shaffer 13.129, 8. 4-Danny Smith 13.352, 9. 87-Aaron Reutzel 13.353, 10. 07-Mark Coldren 13.479, 11. 55F-Taylor Ferns 13.499, 12. 7c-Caleb Armstrong 13.515, 13. 13-Brandon Matus 13.538, 14. 59-Danny Holtgraver 13.565, 15. 14-Tyler Clem 13.660, 16. 77x-Wayne Johnson 13.704, 17. 71m-Paul May 13.723, 18. 49h-Brad Howard 13.727, 19. 10-Terry Gray 13.814, 20. 40-Mark Imler 13.945, 21. 49-Jordan Givler 14.613, 22. 33-Brent Matus 14.643.

Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 45-Tim Shaffer, 2. 29-Kerry Madsen, 3. I07-Steve Buckwalter, 4. 13-Brandon Matus, 5. 77x-Wayne Johnson, 6. 10-Terry Gray, 7. 33-Brent Matus, 8. 07-Mark Coldren (DNS).

Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 4-Danny Smith, 2. 55F-Taylor Ferns, 3. 11-Steve Kinser, 4. 9p-Parker Price-Miller, 5. 59-Danny Holtgraver, 6. 71m-Paul May, 7. 40-Mark Imler.

Heat Three (8 Laps): 1. 87-Aaron Reutzel, 2. 7c-Caleb Armstrong, 3. 10h-Chad Kemenah, 4. 14k-Dale Blaney, 5. 49h-Brad Howard, 6. 14-Tyler Clem, 7. 49-Jordan Givler.

Dash (6 Laps): 1. 87-Aaron Reutzel, 2. 7c-Caleb Armstrong, 3. 29-Kerry Madsen, 4. 4-Danny Smith, 5. 45-Tim Shaffer, 6. 55F-Taylor Ferns.  

“A” Main (30 Laps): 1. 29-Kerry Madsen (3), 2. 87-Aaron Reutzel (1), 3. 45-Tim Shaffer (5), 4. 11-Steve Kinser (8), 5. 10h-Chad Kemenah (9), 6. 77x-Wayne Johnson (16), 7. 59-Danny Holtgraver (14), 8. 55F-Taylor Ferns (6), 9. 13-Brandon Matus (13), 10. I07-Steve Buckwalter (7), 11. 71m-Paul May (17), 12. 9p-Parker Price-Miller (10), 13. 10-Terry Gray (19), 14. 14-Tyler Clem (15), 15. 7c-Caleb Armstrong (2), 16. 40-Mark Imler (20), 17. 33-Brent Matus (22), 18. 4-Danny Smith (4), 19. 14k-Dale Blaney (11), 20. 49-Jordan Givler (21), 21. 49h-Brad Howard (18), 22. 07-Mark Coldren (12).

Lap leaders: Caleb Armstrong 1, Aaron Reutzel 2-29, Kerry Madsen 30.