Make it Four in a Row for R.J. Johnson

The Wheatley Chronicles – Volume IV, No. 46

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (December 8, 2016) – For the fourth year in a row, Arizona’s R.J. Johnson has raced to the top of the Beaver Stripes Non-Wing 360 Sprint Car Power Rankings.

Picking off a dozen feature wins en route to another USAC Southwest Sprint Car championship, a fourth consecutive year of double-digit wins netted another number Beaver Stripes Power Ranking.

Johnson took the top ranking by a record 155 point margin over Charles Davis, Jr., who claimed second in the final rundown for the third time in four years.

After cracking the top ten with a ranking of sixth in 2015, Stevie Sussex climbed to third this year with USAC West Coast Sprint Car champion Brody Roa and Southwest contender Matt Rossi filling out this year’s top five.

Others among this year’s top ten included Dennis Gile, Josh Hodges, Mike Martin, D.J. Johnson and Jace Vander Weerd.  Along with R.J. Johnson and Davis, Jr., Martin has ranked among the top ten over each of the past four years while Gile, Hodges, D.J. Johnson and Vander Weerd each broke into the top ten for the first time.

Title sponsor of the Non-Wing 360 Sprint Car Power Rankings, Beaver Stripes Custom Graphics and Molding Supply is an Arizona supplier of automotive graphics, moldings and custom accessories.  In business for more than 30 years, Beaver Stripes is actively involved in keeping the local racing action alive in the Phoenix and Arizona area with a strong interest in local car clubs, car shows and other vehicle related activity involving the community.

A sponsor of Canyon Speedway Park and Arizona Speedway, Beaver Stripes is located at 2389 W. McDowell Road in Phoenix for all your graphics needs and may be contacted at 602-289-8000 or 800-257-7835.  More information is available at

The Beaver Stripes Non-Wing 360 Sprint Car Power Rankings are a part of the Open Wheel Power Rankings that also includes STIDA Winged 410s, Infinity Shocks Non-Wing 410s, Rod End Supply Winged 360s, Midgets and 305s presented by Dodge City Raceway Park.  Paul Weaver topped the 305 portion with the final standings for the remaining divisions to be released over the next two weeks.

A look at this year’s Top 50 in Beaver Stripes Non-Wing 360 Sprint Car Power Rankings is as follows:

BeaverStripes 225

RankNameHometownWinsPoints2015 Rank2014 Rank2013 Rank
1R.J. JohnsonPhoenix, AZ12453111
2Charles Davis, Jr.Buckeye, AZ1298232
3Stevie SussexTempe, AZ620761327
4Brody RoaBuena Vista, CA3172104751
5Matt RossiPeoria, AZ01688585
6Dennis GilePhoenix, AZ0145104NRNR
7Josh HodgesTijeras, NM3144301442
8Mike MartinYuma, AZ0144577
9D.J. JohnsonStockton, CA31342677NR
10Jace Vander WeerdVisalia, CA2129152019
11Shon DeskinsWaddell, AZ01242069
12Troy RutherfordOjai, CA5117171515
13Tye MihockoPeoria, AZ0116541266
14Bryan ClausonNoblesville, IN4112382210
15Jason GradyFlora Vista, NM711115710887
16Rob LindseySherwood, OR4109129NR24
17Terry Schank, Jr.Santa Rosa,CA121071487NR
18Klint SmpsonMelbourne, AUS810625NRNR
19Richard Vander WeerdVisalia, CA21061393
20Brian HosfordGilbert, AZ096364635
21Alex SchrieverSioux Falls, SD488NRNR139
22Kyle SmithMoorpark, CA487161844
23Tristan GuardinoFremont, CA18419NRNR
24Trey MarchamNewcastle, OK08122132NR
25Danny Faria, Jr.Tipton, CA0774216
26James GiossiNew Richmond, WI67540NRNR
27Rick KobsDeer Park, WI77453NRNR
28Andrew ReinboldChandler, AZ071233113
29Ryan BernalHollister, CA168345
30Brady BaconBroken Arrow, OK1677832
31Nick AiutoCamp Verde, AZ067215479
32Josh PelkeyPeoria, AZ066924
33Thomas OgleSurprise, AZ066655834
34Geoff EnsignSebastopol, CA165794254
35Austin LiggettTracy, CA161292923
36Michael FanelliRio Rancho, NM060NRNRNR
37Rick HendrixPalmdale, CA059474426
38Jimmy KoubaByron, MN45833NRNR
39Tim AlberdingSalem, OR05832NR110
40Bruce St. JamesPhoenix, AZ058686925
41Trevor PlambeckRapid City, SD557NRNRNR
42Josh GradyFarmington, NM156NRNRNR
43Jeremy KerzmanGray Eagle, MN452184NRNR
44Max AdamsLoomis, CA050867176
45Jake KoubaMinneapolis, MN14848NRNR
46Clinton BrunsLittle Rock, IA148NRNR163
47Lance HallmarkMcMinnville, OR247NRNRNR
48Michael PickensAuckland, NZ047NR53NR
49Lindsay BarneyEagle Creek, OR146144NRNR
50Cody MajorsSimi Valley, CA0466455NR

Features Completed: 157

Number of Different Winners: 65

Number of Drivers to Earn Points: 220

Past Top Tens in Beaver Stripes Non-Wing 360 Sprint Car Power Rankings:

2015 – 1. R.J. Johnson (10) 377, 2. Charles Davis, Jr. (3) 317, 3. Ryan Bernal (7) 231, 4. Danny Faria, Jr. (3) 199, 5. Mike Martin (3) 198, 6. Stevie Sussex (3) 196, 7. Brady Bacon (1) 178, 8. Matt Rossi (1) 170, 9. Josh Pelkey 145, 10. Brody Roa (3) 142.

2014 – 1. R.J. Johnson (11) 480, 2. Josh Pelkey (4) 366, 3. Charles Davis, Jr. (4) 361, 4. Ryan Bernal (12) 329, 5. Matt Rossi (1) 251, 6. Shon Deskins (1) 226, 7. Mike Martin (1) 212, 8. Brady Bacon (2) 160, 9. Richard Vander Weerd (1) 158, 10. Matt Mitchell (1) 150.

2013 – 1. R.J. Johnson (11) 387, 2. Charles Davis, Jr. (6) 260, 3. Richard Vander Weerd (7) 280, 4. Josh Pelkey (3) 236, 5. Ryan Bernal (5) 191, 6. Danny Faria, Jr. (4) 184, 7. Mike Martin (1) 184, 8. Bud Kaeding 166, 9. Shon Deskins 143, 10. Bryan Clauson (6) 138.

A part of the recurring “The Wheatley Chronicles” series of articles on, the Open Wheel Power Rankings are determined by cumulative points based on a sliding scale dependent upon car count at Sprint Car and Midget events across all sanctions and non-sanctions throughout North America.

The Wheatley Chronicles brings insight and highlights from all variety of racing series throughout the nation in 2015 and beyond along with the Open Wheel Power Rankings on a regular basis.  Please send any comments, questions or advertising inquiries regarding The Wheatley Chronicles at to Lonnie Wheatley at