Mark Smith Wires Port Royal Field

PORT ROYAL, Pa. (May 13, 2017) – Former track champion Mark Smith of Sunbury wired the field for the 25-lap 410 sprint car win at Port Royal Speedway on Saturday night, taking $3,200 for the 33rd win of his career at the track.

The win marked the end of an eight-year absence for Smith from 410-sprint victory lane at the oval.

Smith’s run to the win in the 410-sprint main saw him enter lapped traffic on the eighth lap with Steve Buckwalter in tow from the fourth starting spot.

Eighth starter Dave Blaney blasted into fourth on the first circuit but would get no higher in the running order, instead slipping backward as the race continued.

Smith worked with the lead as sixth starter Rick Lafferty eventually came to third with 17th starter Greg Hodnett on his heels.

Buckwalter was able to challenge Smith for the lead during the mid-stages but Smith was strong enough to stay out front, choosing his lines through traffic carefully to preserve control.

The race nearly went non-stop until a lone yellow flag unfurled for a stopped Chad Trout as the field was headed to the checkers on the final lap.

The final lap restart proved uneventful with Smith ending up taking the win by .864 seconds over Buckwalter with Lafferty third followed by Hodnett and Tyler Bear.

Bear gave up third to both Lafferty and then Hodnett with four laps to go.

Sixth through 10th went to Aaron Ott, Dave Blaney, Mike Wagner, Logan Wagner and Brock Zearfoss.

Heats went to Smith, Bear and Buckwalter.

Feature Finish


410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Mark Smith, 2. Steve Buckwalter, 3. Rick Lafferty, 4. Greg Hodnett, 5. Tyler Bear, 6. Aaron Ott, 7. Dave Blaney, 8. Mike Wagner, 9.Logan Wagner, 10. Brock Zearfoss, 11. Cale Grubb, 12. TJ Stutts, 13. Dylan Cisney, 14. Trenton Sheaffer, 15. Kevin Nouse, 16. Davey Sammons, 17. Jason Shultz, 18. Lucas Wolfe, 19. Kody Lehman, 20. Doug Esh, 21. Curt Stroup, 22. Chad Trout, 23. Kyle Reinhardt, 24. Joey Hershey