Marks on the Mark at Port Royal

PORT ROYAL, Pa. (August 27, 2016) – One week after the Jonestown Jet Brock Zearfoss won the sprint car main at Port Royal Speedway, the Myerstown Missile Brent Marks came in for a landing in victory lane, scoring his second oval checkers of the year, worth $3,200 in a flag to flag performance.

Ryan Taylor and Marks shared the front row for the 25-lap 410 sprint car feature and Marks took command at the drop of the green.

Taylor trailed Marks for just the first lap before point leader Doug Esh motored into second spot.

A caution flag on the fourth circuit wiped out a two second lead built up by Marks but Esh could not contend on the restart.

Marks entered the rear of the field with 10 laps away chased by Esh and although the rest of the event was fought through traffic, Esh was never really able to get close enough to attempt any sort of challenge.

But even with firm command, Marks weaved through traffic during the final five laps, making some daring and breathtaking moves that could have saved his win or ended his run, depending on pure fate.

Marks took the victory, the seventh of his overall career at Port Royal Speedway by 1.714 seconds.

In victory lane Marks praised speedway track crews for the surface that has produced excellent racing all season long and went on to proclaim the oval, “The premier track in Pennsylvania.”

Ryan Taylor finished third, nearly seven seconds back of the winner followed by Brock Zearfoss and Dylan Cisney.

Both Zearfoss and Cisney drove by Greg Hodnett to secure their spots.

Hodnett rode home sixth followed by Logan Wagner, Lucas Wolfe, Mike Wagner and Joey Hershey.

Heats went to Taylor, Marks and Esh. Kody Lehman won the consolation race. Hodnett set fast time in group time trials.

Feature finish:

410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Brent Marks, 2. Doug Esh, 3. Ryan Taylor, 4. Brock Zearfoss, 5. Dylan Cisney, 6. Greg Hodnett, 7. Logan Wagner, 8. Lucas Wolfe, 9. Mike Wagner, 10. Joey Hershey, 11. Trenton Schaeffer, 12. Rick Lafferty, 13. Justin Barger, 14. Kody Lehman, 15. Steve Buckwalter, 16. Curt Stroup, 17. Dustin Baney, 18. Mike Wagner II., 19. Mark Coldren, 20. Daryl Stimeling, 21. Austin Burke, 22. Tyler Bear, 23. Karl Baker

DNQ: Vince Snyder, Cory Thornton, Cale Grubb