McCarl Leads Early Rod End Supply Winged 360 Power Rankings

The Wheatley Chronicles – Volume V, No. 7

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (March 1, 2017) – With the initial signature event of the season in the books, it’s Iowa’s Terry McCarl out to the early lead in the initial Rod End Supply Winged 360 Sprint Car Power Rankings of 2017.

While Mark Smith won the war and the $10,000 “King of 360’s” crown at Tampa’s East Bay Raceway Park, McCarl edged his overall performance for the Rod End Supply Power Rankings lead.

Smith nabbed a Thursday night win before winning Saturday’s finale.  But his ninth place showing in Friday’s action was enough for McCarl to take the early lead by just four points.  McCarl posted finishes of second and first in prelim action before finishing fourth in Saturday’s finale.

Texas shoe Travis Rilat holds down the third-ranking going into March with Florida’s A.J. Maddox and Ohio’s Chad Kemenah also among the early top five.

While Smith took the big winner’s share at East Bay, this past weekend’s action also had D.J. Netto victorious at Marysville Raceway in California after earlier competition had Maddox and Matt Kurtz splitting a pair of Top Gun features at East Bay and Johnny Herrera besting a slim field at Tucson.

This weekend’s Rod End Supply Winged 360 action includes the season-opening pair of USCS events in Mississippi (Hattiesburg and Magnolia Motor Speedway) along with ASCS Southwest action at Canyon.  The following weekend (March 10-11) features a Cali double at Silver Dollar Speedway that includes the Civil War season opener along with more USAC Southwest competition at Arizona Speedway, ASCS SOS action at Loxley and the season opener at Little Rock’s I-30 Speedway.

The current top 25 in Rod End Supply Winged 360 Power Rankings…

RodEndSupply black

RankNameHometownWinsPoints2016 Rank
1Terry McCarlAltoona, IA19322
2Mark SmithTower City, PA2895
3Travis RilatForney, TX06756
4A.J. MaddoxTampa, FL16299
5Chad KemenahAlvada, OH054134
6Thomas KennedyWinnipeg, CAN052133
7Jason SidesBartlett, TN048173
8Shawn DonathS. Onondaga, NY046124
9-tieTim ShafferAliquippa, PA04180
9-tieDanny Martin, Jr.Tampa, FL041102
11Rico AbreuRutherford, CA037122
12Robbie StillwaggonBurlington, NJ03661
13Danny SmithChillicothe, OH033191
14Greg HodnettThomasville, PA032204
15Brian BellMemphis, TN02959
16Wayne JohnsonOklahoma City, OK0287
17Matt KurtzJacksonville, FL12793
18Coleman GulickBinghamton, NY026246
19Harli WhiteLindsay, OK022293
20Derek HagarMarion, AR0194
21Johnny GilbertsonDover, FL016146
22Phil GressmanFremont, OH016222
23Caleb HelmsFindlay, OH016498
24D.J. NettoHanford, CA11565
25-tieCarson McCarlAltoona, IA01579
25-tieParker Price-MillerKokomo, IN015117

Features Completed: 7

Number of Different Winners: 6

Number of Drivers to Earn Points: 50


The Winged 360 Power Rankings are presented by Rod End Supply, which offers a wide assortment of rod ends, radius rods, and specialty products that fit the needs of anyone involved in all variety of auto racing and performance related industries including farming equipment.  More information regarding Rod End Supply is available at

A part of the recurring “The Wheatley Chronicles” series of articles on, the Open Wheel Power Rankings are determined by cumulative points based on a sliding scale dependent upon car count at Sprint Car and Midget events across all sanctions and non-sanctions throughout North America.

The Open Wheel Power Rankings also include STIDA Winged 410 Power Rankings, Non-Wing 410 Power Rankings, the Beaver Stripes Non-Wing 360 Power Rankings, the Midget Power Rankings and 305 Power Rankings presented by Dodge City Raceway Park.

Past Top Tens in Rod End Supply Winged 360 Sprint Car Power Rankings:

2016 – 1. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. (10) 716, 2. Aaron Reutzel (8) 713, 3. Johnny Herrera (7) 623, 4. Derek Hagar (15) 607, 5. Mark Smith (11) 604, 6. Seth Bergman (7) 587, 7. Wayne Johnson (4) 525, 8. Blake Hahn (4) 521, 9. Jason Barney (5) 487, 10. Andy Forsberg (12) 482.

2015 – 1. Seth Bergman (13) 717, 2. Justin Sanders (20) 649, 3. Aaron Reutzel (10) 613, 4. Johnny Herrera (9) 596, 5. Wayne Johnson (5) 581, 6. Mark Smith (10) 542, 7. Derek Hagar (9) 437, 8. Andy Forsberg (11) 434, 9. Mitch Brown (6) 410, 10. Shane Golobic (5) 409.

2014 – 1. Jason Johnson (5) 626, 2. Aaron Reutzel (8) 601, 3. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. (6) 510, 4. Seth Bergman (10) 501, 5. Johnny Herrera (3) 491, 6. Tim Crawley (11) 487, 7. Wayne Johnson (6) 448, 8. Tony Bruce, Jr. (4) 445, 9. Brian Brown (8) 441, 10. Jeff Swindell (4) 441.

2013 – 1. Jason Johnson (12) 699, 2. Johnny Herrera (5) 673, 3. Tim Crawley (14) 561, 4. Brian Brown (12) 537, 5. Logan Forler (8) 492, 6. Tony Bruce, Jr. (4) 488, 7. Roger Crockett (17) 479, 8. Jeff Swindell (5) 455, 9. Andy Forsberg (10) 430, 10. Steve Poirier (8) 420.

The Wheatley Chronicles brings insight and highlights from all variety of racing series throughout the nation in 2017 and beyond along with the Open Wheel Power Rankings on a regular basis.  Please send any comments, questions or advertising inquiries regarding The Wheatley Chronicles at to Lonnie Wheatley at