McCullagh Pulls Off Classic Shocker

WARRNAMBOOL, Aus. (January 21, 2018) – Unheralded Corey McCullagh pulled off an upset win by taking the top step of the podium in Sunday’s 46th Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic atop the Premier Speedway clay oval.

After the evening opened up with Grant Anderson besting Jason Johnson in the second preliminary feature that was postponed from Saturday night, McCullagh surged past Brooke Tatnell past the midway point en route to the prestigious victory.

“It ain’t like an SRA show,” McCullagh commented in victory lane.  “The car was unbelievable.  I can’t believe it, holy Hell.”

While McCullagh quietly worked forward from the ninth starting position, Tatnell took the lead from Peter Doukas on the eighth round.  McCullagh began to power toward the front after a midrace caution for a Jordyn Brazier spin, rallying into the lead on the 31st round.

There was no stopping McCullagh over the closing circuits as Carson Macedo made a late move past Tatnell to capture runner-up honors.  Tatnell settled for third with Kerry Madsen and Steve Lines rounding out the top five.

46th Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic Feature Finish (50 Laps):  1. Corey McCullagh, 2. Carson Macedo, 3. Brooke Tatnell, 4. Kerry Madsen, 5. Steven Lines, 6. Shaun Dobson, 7. Luke Dillon, 8. Darren Mollenoyux, 9. Cory Eliason, 10. Peter Doukas, 11. Matt Egel, 12. Terry McCarl, 13. Lachlan McHugh, 14. Daniel Harding, 15. John Vogels, 16. Ryan Jones, 17. Jordyn Brazier, 18. Jason Johnson, 19. Tim Hutchins, 20. Robbie Farr, 21. James McFadden, 22. Luke Walker, 23. Jamie Veal, 24. Glen Sutherland, 25. Luke Oldfield.