NSW Champ Robbie Farr Stops Sweet at Sydney

From Valvoline Raceway PR – GRANVILLE, NSW (December 30, 2019) – Robbie Farr claimed his career third NSW Sprintcar title on Monday night at Valvoline Raceway.

Farr set quick time, won his heat, won the Pole Shuffle and then survived several determined attempts to take his lead away over the 35-lap distance after starting on the front row with Jamie Veal.

Texan Aaron Reutzel, Californian Brad Sweet, Marcus Dumesny and Veal all had their attempts to wrestle the point from Farr but the biggest surprise came from Jackson Delamont.

Though he would finish fourth eventually Delamont was a legitimate chance for victory as he ripped around the kerb line to dispose of several heavy hitters including Reutzel, Sweet and Veal as he set off after Farr.

Veal came after Farr late in the race several times but came up agonisingly short to record his third consecutive second place finish in as many rounds of Speedweek.

Delamont came from tenth on the grid to place fourth whilst Brad Sweet pedalled to third after starting on the outside third row.

Marcus Dumesny was again consistent finishing sixth but the talented third generation racer was as high as second place at one point early.
Defending NSW champion Lynton Jeffrey came from thirteenth position to score seventh.

Mick Saller came from twenty second to a stirring ninth place finish in one of his best results to date.

SA hard charger Ryan Jones came from nineteenth to a gutsy eighth place earning another top ten result.

Tasmanian Shaun Dobson came from twenty first position to finish a stout eleventh.

Alex Orr had his chances from fourteenth to record an eventual twelfth but not before he’d climbed much higher into a possible top five result mid-race.

One of the highlights of the race on a personal level was that of Mick Matchett who made the A-Main straight in and finished 16th after what has been the saddest month of his life losing wife Pauline to breast cancer earlier in December.

Official A-Main placings Ultimate Sprintcars

1. Robbie Farr
2. Jamie Veal
3. Brad Sweet
4. Jackson Delamont
5. Aaron Reutzel
6. Marcus Dumesny
7. Lynton Jeffrey (American Tire & Racing Services Lucky Sevens)
8. Ryan Jones
9. Michael Saller
10. Danny Reidy
11. Shaun Dobson
12. Alex Orr
13. Grant Tunks
14. Jessie Attard
15. Max Dumesny
16. Troy Little
17. Michael Stewart
18. Mick Matchett

Ultimate Sprintcars B-Main results:

1. Shaun Dobson
2. Mick Saller
3. Luke Stirton
4. Michael Stewart
5. Daniel Cassidy
6. Chris McInerney
7. Darren Salmon
8. Michael Sammut
9. Blake Skipper
10. Ben Atkinson Jr
11. Lachlan Caunt
12. McKenna Haase