Pittman Strikes Again in Texas Outlaw Nationals Opener

The Wheatley Chronicles – Volume VI, No. 7

Lonnie Wheatley, MESQUITE, Texas (April 27, 2018) – When you’re hot, you’re hot.  And Daryn Pittman is scorching hot right now after picking off his third Craftsman World of Outlaws Sprint Car series win over the last four events by winning Friday night’s 25-lap Texas Outlaw Nationals opener atop the ½-mile Devil’s Bowl Speedway clay oval near Dallas.

“This car is fun to drive right now,” Pittman said upon climbing out of Kasey Kahne Racing’s ionomy No. 9 entry.  “It says a lot about this team, we’ve come a long way in a short amount of time, especially with the start we had to the year.”

Pittman caught a reprieve in this one after snaring his initial two wins of the season last weekend at West Memphis and Pevely.  This one came when the initial start was waved off.  On that initial start, new track record holder Jason Johnson had rallied by on the top side and stretched out an immediate lead only to see it negated a when a car came to a stop off the top of turn four before the opening round was completed.

“I knew the track would go to the top eventually, I just didn’t think it would be by the second lap,” Pittman explained in victory lane.  “Jason (Johnson) went by and put 20 car lengths on us immediately.”

But The Ragin’ Cajun’s hand had been tipped and Pittman would have no more of that.  Pittman worked the top on the restart and jumped into a lead he would never relinquish on the restart.

Traffic did keep things interesting though, with Johnson closing in on the Owasso, OK, native when a caution midway through the race gave Pittman clear sailing once again.  Opting for the outside lane on the restart, Pittman took off again with Logan Schuchart dashing past Johnson for second.

Schuchart and Johnson kept Pittman in sight and closed in again as traffic became a factor over the closing rounds.  But neither could take advantage with Pittman matching his win total from a year ago with boss Kasey (sixth-place) in the house.

Pittman crossed the stripe ahead of Schuchart with Johnson in third.  Reigning WoO king Donny Schatz was fourth with Brad Sweet rounding out the top five.

The Vitals

Series:  Craftsman World of Outlaws Sprint Cars

Track:  Devil’s Bowl Speedway (Mesquite, TX)

Car Count:  23

Fast Qualifier: Jason Johnson, 13.306 seconds – Broke 19 year-old track record.

Heat Winners (starting position in parentheses): Johnson (1), Stewart (1), Schuchart (2).

Dash Winner:  Pittman (1).

“A” Main Cautions:  Two

Original Start – Ryan Robinson slows atop turn four to bring out the caution before the opening round was completed.

13 Laps – Channin Tankersley slows aboard the Old School Racing entry to give everyone a quick breather.

“A” Main Hard Charger:  Sheldon Haudenschild gained a handful of positions by climbing from 14th to ninth.

The Box Score…

Qualifying: 1. 41-Jason Johnson, 13.306; 2. 2-Shane Stewart, 13.376; 3. 1A-Jacob Allen, 13.705; 4. 4K-Kasey Kahne, 13.707; 5. 9-Daryn Pittman, 13.789; 6. 1S-Logan Schuchart, 13.814; 7. 7S-Jason Sides, 13.835; 8. 49-Brad Sweet, 13.949; 9. 15-Donny Schatz, 13.951; 10. 67K-Tucker Klaasmeyer, 13.997; 11. 17-Sheldon Haudenschild, 14.005; 12. 67-Ryan Robinson, 14.012; 13. 18-Ian Madsen, 14.021; 14. 45-Paul McMahan, 14.097; 15. 5-David Gravel, 14.131; 16. W20-Greg Wilson, 14.175; 17. 83-Cory Eliason, 14.179; 18. 11K-Kraig Kinser, 14.181; 19. 19-Brent Marks, 14.385; 20. 13-Clyde Knipp, 14.39; 21. 17G-Channin Tankersley, 14.422; 22. OO-Dane Lorenc, 14.526; 23. 12W-Dale Wester, NT

Heat #1 – (8 Laps) – Top 6 Transfer: 1. 41-Jason Johnson [1]; 2. 4K-Kasey Kahne [2]; 3. 18-Ian Madsen [5]; 4. 19-Brent Marks [7]; 5. 7S-Jason Sides [3]; 6. W20-Greg Wilson [6]; 7. 67K-Tucker Klaasmeyer [4]; 8. OO-Dane Lorenc [8]

Heat #2 – (8 Laps) – Top 6 Transfer: 1. 2-Shane Stewart [1]; 2. 9-Daryn Pittman [2]; 3. 49-Brad Sweet [3]; 4. 45-Paul McMahan [5]; 5. 17-Sheldon Haudenschild [4]; 6. 83-Cory Eliason [6]; 7. 13-Clyde Knipp [7]; 8. 12W-Dale Wester [8]

Heat #3 – (8 Laps) – Top 6 Transfer: 1. 1S-Logan Schuchart [2]; 2. 15-Donny Schatz [3]; 3. 5-David Gravel [5]; 4. 1A-Jacob Allen [1]; 5. 11K-Kraig Kinser [6]; 6. 67-Ryan Robinson [4]; 7. 17G-Channin Tankersley [7]

Craftsman Club Dash (6 Laps): 1. 9-Daryn Pittman [1]; 2. 1S-Logan Schuchart [2]; 3. 15-Donny Schatz [3]; 4. 41-Jason Johnson [4]; 5. 4K-Kasey Kahne [5]; 6. 2-Shane Stewart [6]

Feature (25 Laps): 1. 9-Daryn Pittman [1][$8,000]; 2. 1S-Logan Schuchart [2][$4,000]; 3. 41-Jason Johnson [4][$2,500]; 4. 15-Donny Schatz [3][$2,200]; 5. 49-Brad Sweet [8][$2,100]; 6. 4K-Kasey Kahne [5][$2,000]; 7. 18-Ian Madsen [7][$1,800]; 8. 5-David Gravel [9][$1,600]; 9. 17-Sheldon Haudenschild [14][$1,500]; 10. 2-Shane Stewart [6][$1,300]; 11. 19-Brent Marks [10][$1,200]; 12. 83-Cory Eliason [17][$1,100]; 13. 45-Paul McMahan [11][$1,000]; 14. 11K-Kraig Kinser [15][$700]; 15. W20-Greg Wilson [16][$600]; 16. 7S-Jason Sides [13][$600]; 17. 1A-Jacob Allen [12][$600]; 18. 13-Clyde Knipp [20][$600]; 19. 67K-Tucker Klaasmeyer [19][$600]; 20. 67-Ryan Robinson [18][$600]; 21. 17G-Channin Tankersley [21][$600]; 22. OO-Dane Lorenc [22][$600]; 23. 12W-Dale Wester [23][$600] Lap Leaders: Daryn Pittman 1-25; KSE Hard Charger Award: 17-Sheldon Haudenschild[+5]


A part of the recurring “The Wheatley Chronicles” series of articles on www.sprintcarmania.com, the Open Wheel Power Rankings are determined by cumulative points based on a sliding scale dependent upon car count at Sprint Car and Midget events across all sanctions and non-sanctions throughout North America.

The Wheatley Chronicles brings insight and highlights from all variety of racing series throughout the nation in 2018 and beyond along with the Open Wheel Power Rankings.  Please send any comments, questions or advertising inquiries regarding The Wheatley Chronicles at www.sprintcarmania.com to Lonnie Wheatley at lonniewheatley@gmail.com.