Rico Rules Central PA Speedweek Finale

SELINSGROVE, Pa. (July 9, 2017) – Second-place starter Rico Abreu of St. Helena, Calif., led polesitter Anthony Macri at the start of the Jan Opperman/Dick Bogar Memorial Sunday in the PA Sprint Car Speedweek finale presented by Middleswarth Potato Chips at Selinsgrove Speedway.

Macri, running his first full Speedweek, pulled to Abreu’s rear bumper on lap 11 while Abreu, an established nationwide star also running his first full Speedweek and making his first career start at Selinsgrove, negotiated his way through lap traffic before Marci’s car slowed to a stop after losing an engine on the home stretch.

Once the green flag came back out Abreu drove away from third-place starter Danny Dietrich who had climbed to second.

Dietrich needed to win and to have sixth-place starter Lucas Wolfe finish eighth or worse to claim his second Speedweek title in a row. Wolfe was in search of his third title.

As Dietrich kept close tabs on race leader Abreu, Wolfe battled just outside the top five in sixth.

The car on the move after the restart for the Macri issue was Blane Heimbach. Heimbach raced his way into the top five and then grabbed fourth from Greg Hodnett on lap 16.

By the lap 20 mark, Abreu had opened a three second lead. Dietrich started to make up ground, cutting the lead down to one second, while Abreu again began to tip toe through lap traffic. This time the story was different though as Dietrich never got close enough to challenge Abreu.

At the end of the 30 lap feature, Abreu was the driver out front claiming the $5,000 in his first central Pennsylvania 410 sprint car win in the Always Racing Speedweek finale.

In victory lane Abreu said he was pacing himself through traffic knowing he could only go as fast as the cars in front of him. He added that one of his biggest support groups is in central Pennsylvnia and he thanked the fans for their support of not only him, but the week in general. Abreu showed his appreciation by joining fans after the race in the grandstand area at his merchandise trailer to sign autographs.

Danny Dietrich’s second place effort was not enough to net last year’s Speedweek winner and champion a second title. Lucas Wolfe crossed the line in seventh adding his third Spedweek crown (2007, 14, 17). Wolfe credited his team and their efforts all week, but admitted he was a little disappointed the team didn’t get a victory considering how strong they were leading into the week. This is Wolfe’s third title with three different teams. Wolfe won the Ray Tilly Classic at Selinsgrove Speedway in June.

Abreu, Dietrich, Dale Blaney, Heimbach, and Greg Hodnett were the top five. It was Blaney’s third third- place finish of the week.

Former 358 Sprint Car winner at Selinsgrove Speedway Brock Zearfoss was sixth followed by Wolfe, TJ Stutts, James McFadden, and Ryan Smith.

410 Sprints – 29 Entries
30-Lap A-Main:  1) 24R Rico Abreu  2) 48 Danny Dietrich  3) 1 Dale Blaney  4) 12 Blane Heimbach  5) 27 Greg Hodnett  6) 3Z Brock Zearfoss  7) 24 Lucas Wolfe  8) 11 TJ Stutts  9) 3 James McFadden  10) 07 Ryan Smith  11) 29 Jason Shultz  12) 51 Freddie Rahmer  13) 35 Tyler Walker  14) 44 Trey Starks  15) 0 Rick Lafferty  16) 92 Sammy Walsh  17) 75 Nicole Bower  18) 33 Jared Esh  19) 35 Daryl Stimling  20) 91  Anthony Fiore  21)  39 Anthony Macri  22) 49 Mallie Shuster  23) 66 Ryan Kissinger  24) 33 Michael Walter

Heat Winners:  Greg Hodnett, Dale Blaney, Danny Dietrich

B-Main Winner:  Tyler Walker

Time Trials:  1) 44 Trey Stark 16.431  2) 3Z Brock Zearfoss 16.595  3) 24 Lucas Wolfe 16.609  4) 27 Greg Hodnett 16.619  5) 39Anthony Macri 16.632  6) 11 TJ Stutts 16.692  7) 24 Rico Abreu 16.762  8) 1 Dale Blaney 16.794  9) 48 Danny Dietrich 16.854  10) 12Blane Heimbach 16.857  11) 0 Rick Lafferty 16.893  12) 07 Ryan Smith 16.897  13) 75 Nicole Bower 16.976  14) 29 Jason Shultz 17.004  15) 3 James McFadden 17.046  16) 49 Mallie Shuster 17.083  17) 51 Freddie Rahmer 17.140  18) 92 Sammy Walsh 17.198  19) 33 Michael Walter 17.280  20) 35 Tyler Walker 17.297  21) 91 Anthony Fiore 17.432  22) 59 Colby Womer 17.491  23) 33 Jared Esh 17.517  24) C4 Jim Shuster 17.682  25) 35S Daryl Stimeling 17.867  26) 66 Ryan Kissinger 18.330  27) 33X Mike Walter 18.433  28) 19W Ryan Linder19.391  29) 17 George Streaker Jr. 27.477

From Selinsgrove Speedway PR