RJ Johnson Leads Mid-Season Beaver Stripes Non-Wing 360 Power Rankings

The Wheatley Chronicles – Volume V, No. 29

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (June 27, 2017) – R.J. Johnson is half way to a fifth-consecutive number one outcome in the Beaver Stripes Non-Wing 360 Sprint Car Power Rankings as he holds the lead in the Mid-Season update.

Finishing atop the Beaver Stripes Non-Wing 360 charts over each of the past four seasons with double-digit victories each time, the Phoenix, AZ, racer has already racked up eight wins in the Non-Wing 360 ranks.

Among those eight Johnson triumphs are a pair of USAC Southwest wins, as he holds a 24-point advantage in his pursuit of another series title.

Johnson’s holds a 39 point lead over Shon Deskins in Beaver Stripes Non-Wing 360 Power Rankings, with Deskins moving to the second spot on the strength of his fourth overall win of the season this past weekend in NMMRA action at Albuquerque’s Sandia Raceway.

Deskins is just two points ahead of third-ranked Ryan Bernal, who has made the most of a limited amount of Non-Wing 360 starts by collecting a half-dozen wins.

Finishing second in Beaver Stripes Non-Wing 360 Power Rankings three times over the past four years, Charles Davis, Jr., is currently ranked fourth with Cali shoe Austin Liggett rounding out the Mid-Season top five.

The balance of the Mid-Season top ten includes Jake Swanson, Stevie Sussex, Danny Faria, Jr., and Vander Weerd twins Jace and Richard.

Title sponsor of the Non-Wing 360 Sprint Car Power Rankings, Beaver Stripes Custom Graphics and Molding Supply is an Arizona supplier of automotive graphics, moldings and custom accessories.  In business for more than 30 years, Beaver Stripes is actively involved in keeping the local racing action alive in the Phoenix and Arizona area with a strong interest in local car clubs, car shows and other vehicle related activity involving the community.

A sponsor of Canyon Speedway Park and Arizona Speedway, Beaver Stripes is located at 2389 W. McDowell Road in Phoenix for all your graphics needs and may be contacted at 602-289-8000 or 800-257-7835.  More information is available at www.beaverstripes.com.

The Mid-Season Top 40 in Beaver Stripes Non-Wing 360 Power Rankings…

1R.J. JohnsonPhoenix, AZ82031
2Shon DeskinsWaddell, AZ41643
3Ryan BernalHollister, CA61622
4Charles Davis, Jr.Buckeye, AZ31486
5Austin LiggettTracy, CA61454
6Jake SwansonAnaheim, CA11177
7Stevie SussexTempe, AZ21135
8Danny Faria, Jr.Tipton, CA1848
9Jace Vander WeerdVisalia, CA0849
10Richard Vander WeerdVisalia, CA07110
11Cody MajorsSimi Valley, CA06815
12Jason GradyFlora Vista, NM25011
13Tye MihockoPeoria, AZ05031
14Max AdamsLoomis, CA04752
15Mike MartinYuma, AZ04617
16Geoff EnsignSebastopol, CA04512
17J.R. BonesteelAlbuquerque, NM04419
18Nick AiutoCamp Verde, AZ04421
19Terry Schank, Jr.Santa Rosa, CA54223
20-tieMichael CurtisCottonwood, AZ04259
20-tieChris BonneauPhoenix, AZ04224
22Rob LindseySherwood, OR14033
23Brady BaconBroken Arrow, OK03913
24Landon ClingTempe, AZ03814
25Klint SimpsonMelbourne, AUS43722
26Kyle HirstLoomis, CA13716
27Micheal FanelliRio Rancho, NM03729
28Josh GradyFarmington, NM03718
29Joe Stornetta, Jr.Napa, CA03420
30Matt RossiPeoria, AZ13335
31Matt LundyPeoria, AZ03242
32Ryan TimmonsPleasant Hill, CA13034
33Tim AlberdingSalem, OR02948
34Tim CoxPark City, IL22863
35Jordan MattsonMilwaukee, WI12847
36Tristan GuardinoFremont, CA02730
37Bruce St. JamesPhoenix, AZ02628
38Brandon WileySanta Maria, CA02632
39Jimmy KoubaByron, MN22545
40Dave DarlandLincoln, IN12525

Features Completed: 86

Number of Different Winners: 47

Number of Drivers to Earn Points: 154

Past Top Tens in Beaver Stripes Non-Wing 360 Sprint Car Power Rankings:

2016 – 1. R.J. Johnson (12) 453, 2. Charles Davis, Jr. (1) 298, 3. Stevie Sussex (6) 207, 4. Brody Roa (3) 172, 5. Matt Rossi 168, 6. Dennis Gile 145, 7. Josh Hodges (3) 144, 8. Mike Martin 144, 9. D.J. Johnson (3) 134, 10. Jace Vander Weerd (2) 129.

2015 – 1. R.J. Johnson (10) 377, 2. Charles Davis, Jr. (3) 317, 3. Ryan Bernal (7) 231, 4. Danny Faria, Jr. (3) 199, 5. Mike Martin (3) 198, 6. Stevie Sussex (3) 196, 7. Brady Bacon (1) 178, 8. Matt Rossi (1) 170, 9. Josh Pelkey 145, 10. Brody Roa (3) 142.

2014 – 1. R.J. Johnson (11) 480, 2. Josh Pelkey (4) 366, 3. Charles Davis, Jr. (4) 361, 4. Ryan Bernal (12) 329, 5. Matt Rossi (1) 251, 6. Shon Deskins (1) 226, 7. Mike Martin (1) 212, 8. Brady Bacon (2) 160, 9. Richard Vander Weerd (1) 158, 10. Matt Mitchell (1) 150.

2013 – 1. R.J. Johnson (11) 387, 2. Charles Davis, Jr. (6) 260, 3. Richard Vander Weerd (7) 280, 4. Josh Pelkey (3) 236, 5. Ryan Bernal (5) 191, 6. Danny Faria, Jr. (4) 184, 7. Mike Martin (1) 184, 8. Bud Kaeding 166, 9. Shon Deskins 143, 10. Bryan Clauson (6) 138.


The Beaver Stripes Non-Wing 360 Sprint Car Power Rankings are a part of the Open Wheel Power Rankings that also includes STIDA Winged 410s, Momentum Racing Suspensions Non-Wing 410s, Rod End Supply Winged 360s, www.midgetmadness.com Midgets and 305s presented by Dodge City Raceway Park.

A part of the recurring “The Wheatley Chronicles” series of articles on www.sprintcarmania.com, the Open Wheel Power Rankings are determined by cumulative points based on a sliding scale dependent upon car count at Sprint Car and Midget events across all sanctions and non-sanctions throughout North America.

The Wheatley Chronicles brings insight and highlights from all variety of racing series throughout the nation in 2017 and beyond along with the Open Wheel Power Rankings on a regular basis.  Please send any comments, questions or advertising inquiries regarding The Wheatley Chronicles at www.sprintcarmania.com to Lonnie Wheatley at lonniewheatley@gmail.com.