RJ Johnson Leads Mid-Season Beaver Stripes Power Rankings

The Wheatley Chronicles – Volume III, No. 53

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (June 30, 2015) – With the crossed flags displayed for the 2015 racing season, it’s time for a deeper look into this year’s Open Wheel Power Rankings. We’ll kick it off with a look at the top 50 in Beaver Stripes Non-Wing 360 Sprint Car Power Rankings.

Gunning for the top spot in Beaver Stripes Non-Wing 360 Power Rankings, Arizona’s R.J. Johnson is once again atop the point charts.

With seven wins to his credit thus far, reigning USAC Southwest champ Johnson has built up a 49-point advantage over Ryan Bernal. Mixing in USAC West Coast starts with a heavy slate of winged events, Bernal has posted six Non-Wing 360 wins thus far.

Bernal breaks up an otherwise all USAC Southwest top five that also includes Charles Davis, Jr., Stevie Sussex and Matt Rossi.

Others among the top ten through the first half of the season include Danny Faria, Jr., Josh Pelkey, Michael Colegrove, Richard Vander Weerd and Terry Schank, Jr.

BeaverStripes 225

1R.J. JohnsonPhoenix, AZ7183
2Ryan BernalHollister, CA6134
3Charles Davis, Jr.Buckeye, AZ1121
4Stevie SussexTempe, AZ2113
5Matt RossiPeoria, AZ1112
6Danny Faria, Jr.Tipton, CA1112
7Josh PelkeyPeoria, AZ0105
8Michael ColegrovePeoria, AZ069
9Richard Vander WeerdVisalia, CA263
10Terry Schank, Jr.Santa Rosa, CA661
11Jace Vander WeerdVisalia, CA058
12Guy WoodwardSanta Clarita, CA253
13Bud KaedingCampbell, CA153
14D.J. JohnsonStockton, CA053
15-tieLandon HurstRiverdale, CA048
15-tieMike MartinYuma, AZ048
17Rob Caho, Jr.Wyoming, MN244
18Trey MarchamNewcastle, OK044
19Tim AlberdingSalem, OR243
20Brody RoaBuena Park, CA143
21Tristan GuardinoFremont, CA141
22Troy RutherfordOjai, CA141
23Colby CopelandRoseville, CA041
24Chase ViebrockNew Richmond, WI340
25Jake SwansonAnaheim, CA040
26Kyle SmithMoorpark, CA236
27Jimmy KoubaByron, MN235
28Colton SlackBrentwood, CA134
29Joe StornettaNapa, CA232
30Greg TaylorOjai, CA132
31Shon DeskinsWaddell, AZ032
32Brian HosfordGilbert, AZ031
33Gary Nelson, Jr.San Jose, CA030
34Shelby ByrdOklahoma City, OK328
35Klint SimpsonSanta Rosa, CA128
36Austin LiggettTracy, CA128
37Chris BonneauPeoria, AZ028
38Koby BarksdaleNorman, OK127
39Luis EspinozaCastaic, CA225
40Guy WeedmanMoro, OR025
41Dave DarlandLincoln, IN025
42Matt MitchellYorba Linda, CA025
43Jake KoubaMinneapolis, MN024
44Andrew ReinboldChandler, AZ024
45Bruce St. JamesPhoenix, AZ023
46Brady BaconBroken Arrow, OK122
47Jimmy CrawfordVentura, CA021
48Josh ShipleyPeoria, AZ021
49Shane MyhreTuolumne, CA120
50Shawn JonesSan Jose, CA120

Features Completed: 74

Number of Different Winners: 44

Number of Drivers to Earn Points: 137

Title sponsor of the Non-Wing 360 Sprint Car Power Rankings, Beaver Stripes Custom Graphics and Molding Supply is an Arizona supplier of automotive graphics, moldings and custom accessories. In business for more than 30 years, Beaver Stripes is actively involved in keeping the local racing action alive in the Phoenix and Arizona area with a strong interest in local car clubs, car shows and other vehicle related activity involving the community.

A sponsor of Canyon Speedway Park and Arizona Speedway, Beaver Stripes is located at 2389 W. McDowell Road in Phoenix for all your graphics needs and may be contacted at 602-289-8000 or 800-257-7835. More information is available at www.beaverstripes.com.

A part of the recurring “The Wheatley Chronicles” series of articles on www.sprintcarmania.com, the Open Wheel Power Rankings are determined by cumulative points based on a sliding scale dependent upon car count at Sprint Car and Midget events across all sanctions and non-sanctions throughout North America.

The Wheatley Chronicles brings insight and highlights from all variety of racing series throughout the nation in 2015 and beyond along with the Open Wheel Power Rankings on a regular basis. Please send any comments, questions or advertising inquiries regarding The Wheatley Chronicles at www.sprintcarmania.com to Lonnie Wheatley at lonniewheatley@gmail.com.