Short Track Nationals Entry Forms Available

Lonnie Wheatley, LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (August 30, 2016) – Little more than two months away, it’s never too soon to start getting ready for I-30 Speedway’s annual Short Track Nationals.

As each racing season winds down, upwards of a hundred or so Sprint Car teams and countless fans flock to Little Rock, Arkansas for the crown jewel of winged 360-ci Sprint Car racing atop the high banks of I-30 Speedway.

This year will be the same, as the 29th Annual COMP Cams Short Track Nationals presented by Hoosier Tires that offers up a $15,000 winner’s share and $2,000 just to start the STN championship finale is set for November 2-5.

While going unsanctioned this year, tech for the prestigious event will continue to be under the watch of Tommie Estes, Jr. As has been the case over the years as well, ASCS rules will again apply.

Entry forms for the event are available at, with entries received by October 26 just $150 and then $250 for late entries.

Racers will surely be chomping at the bit to add their name to the list of STN champions after last year’s edition fell victim to rain as well as this spring’s makeup attempt.

With Mother Nature’s interruption, current Camping World NASCAR Truck series title contender Christopher Bell still reigns as defending Short Track Nationals champion after becoming the youngest driver to win the event in 2014.

Just 19 years old at the time, Bell wrestled the lead away from A.G. Rains at the midway point and led the rest of the way for his STN triumph after settling for runner-up honors each of the previous two years.

Bell beat reigning ASCS National Tour champion Aaron Reutzel, Brian Brown, Wayne Johnson and Kevin Swindell to the line as more than $100,000 was doled out over the weekend.

Bell joined a prestigious list of Short Track Nationals champions that includes Sammy Swindell, Paul McMahan, Brad Sweet, Tony Bruce, Jr., Jason Meyers, Jason Johnson, Tim Montgomery, Gary Wright, Jason Sides, Mike Ward, Tim Crawley, Wayne Johnson, Pete Butler, Terry Gray, John Gerloff and Steve Kinser.

The Pertinent Info: The What: 29th Annual COMP Cams Short Track Nationals presented by Hoosier Tires.

The Where: I-30 Speedway (Little Rock, AR). I-30 Speedway is located seven miles southwest of Little Rock off I-30 Exit 126 (Alexander Road).

The When: November 2-5, 2016.

The Past Winners:

2015-Rained Out

2014-Christopher Bell

2013-Sammy Swindell

2012-Paul McMahan

2011-Sammy Swindell

2010-Brad Sweet

2009-Tony Bruce, Jr.

2008-Tony Bruce, Jr.

2007-Jason Meyers

2006-Jason Johnson

2005-Tim Montgomery

2004-Gary Wright

2003-Gary Wright

2002-Paul McMahan

2001-Jason Sides

2000-Mike Ward

1999-Gary Wright

1998-Tim Crawley

1997-Wayne Johnson

1996-Pete Butler

1995-Gary Wright

1994-Terry Gray

1993-John Gerloff

1992-Rained Out

1991-Steve Kinser

1990-Sammy Swindell

1989-Steve Kinser

1988-Steve Kinser

For more information regarding I-30 Speedway’s Short Track Nationals, check at or call the track at 501-455-4567.