Sweet Battles to Second Straight Sydney Speedweek Win

From Valvoline Raceway PR – GRANVILLE, NSW (December 28, 2019) – American Brad Sweet doubled up his A-Main success tonight in Ultimate Sprintcars on a spectacular but challenging night at Parramatta’s Valvoline Raceway.

Sweet backed up his Boxing Day night success with a nail-biting win in the 35-lap A-Main to narrowly defeat Jamie Veal and Carson Macedo in second and third respectively.

It was Sweet’s second win and Veal’s second runner-up finish in as many rounds of Speedweek so far.

Brad Sweet came from the second row of the grid to win the Ultimate Sprintcar A-Main but not without an absolutely torrid battle with Jamie Veal for much of the race.

Macedo started on the front row with Marcus Dumesny but it was Veal who looked the raciest early.

Texan Aaron Reutzel really had his six shooters out with a blazing run in the Saller Motorsport Triple X and he pulled off a Houdini 360-degree spin in turn two whilst challenging for the top three after clipping a left rear with his right front only to loop it again shortly after bringing on the yellows.

Sent to the rear Reutzel literally screamed back to sixth by the fall of the chequers in a barnstorming run in the new car the team put together after the chassis was destroyed on Boxing Day.

Marcus Dumesny continued his consistency with a top four result which will no doubt preserve his lead in the USC NSW Championship as Round Three of Speedweek looms this Monday might December 30.

Robbie Farr came from the fifth row to score fifth at race’s end while Alex Orr was looking every bit a chance for a podium before eventually finishing in the American Tire & Racing Services “Lucky Sevens” position just behind Reutzel.

Grant Tunks placed eighth with Lynton Jeffrey in ninth and Ian Madsen barely scraping through for the transfer from the B-Main with a deflating right rear tyre to run top ten in the A-Main.

Official Sprintcar A-Main results:

1. Brad Sweet
2. Jamie Veal
3. Carson Macedo
4. Marcus Dumesny
5. Robbie Farr
6. Aaron Reutzel
7. Alex Orr (American Tire & Racing Services Lucky Sevens award)
8. Grant Tunks
9. Lynton Jeffrey
10. Ian Madsen
11. Jeremy Cross
12. Jessie Attard
13. Jordyn Brazier
14. Michael Stewart
15. Daniel Sayre
16. Warren Ferguson
17. Max Dumesny
18. Daniel Cassidy
19. Shaun Dobson
20. Troy Little
21. Andrew Wright
22. Jackson Delamont DNF
23. Sam Walsh DNF
24. Ryan Jones DNF

Official Sprintcar B-Main results:

1. Michael Stewart
2. Troy Little
3. Jackson Delamont
4. Ian Madsen
5. Matt Geering
6. Brendan Scorgie
7. James Thompson
8. Darren Salmon
9. Brett Sullivan
10. Ben Atkinson Jr
11. Chris Mcinerney
12. Mick Matchett
13. McKenna Haase
14. Blake Skipper
15. Peter O’Neill
16. Luke Geering
17. Guy Stanshall DNF
18. Coby Elliott DNF
19. Jimmy Matchett DNF