Brandon Rahmer Gets Second Lincoln Win

ABBOTTSTOWN, Pa. (6/4/2016) –Brandon Rahmer turned around a tough start to the 2016 season by holding off a stellar field of sprint cars to claim his second career win in the 25-lap 410 sprint car feature at Lincoln Speedway Saturday night.


“This year’s kinda been rollin’ off a little tough, but I’ve been drawing bad and haven’t really been racing like myself,” said Rahmer after matching his brother with his first win of the season and becoming the ninth different winner in 11 races in the Pigeon Hills this year, “I was really good in the heat and finally put a whole night together…and I’m glad that I’m finally standing here.”


Handicapping placed Rahmer on the pole for the start, and despite challenges from two top-notch drivers, led every lap. Cory Haas started third and chased Rahmer for the first 16 laps.


“In the beginning there with Cory, I was a little worried because it was really dirty up top. I slid myself going into one because I knew he was going to come up and slide me, said Rahmer, “I can trust him when I’m racing beside him, but he didn’t clear me and I was able wiggle through there. I’m the one standing here. Just the way it happened.”


While Rahmer enjoying a 1.13-second lead, seventh-starting and Lincoln points leader Alan Krimes finally caught Haas for second on lap 17.


Krimes crossed 1.43 seconds behind the winner, with Haas, Brent Marks coming from ninth to finish fourth, and Freddie Rahmer fifth. Sixth through tenth were Danny Dietrich, Robbie Kendall, Austin Hogue, Brian Montieth, and Chase Dietz.


“I tried not to think about the drivers behind me or I’d get myself really worked up,” said Rahmer of Haas and the other big guns running in the top ten, “There’s some really good competition here, and my brother had a good night, too. Sometimes you come here and you run up front, and the next few weeks you might be rolling around the back, but you’re still with good cars. It’s difficult here.”


Heats for the 30 410 sprinters were won by Krimes, Hogue, and Billy Dietrich, who ended up scratching from the feature.


East Berlin’s Wyatt Hinkle claimed his first career Lincoln win in the 20-lap 358 sprint car feature.


Hinkle started on the outside of the front row and won the drag race to turn one over polesitter Jack Eldreth. From there, he led every lap, despite heavy pressure from both Chandler Leiby and Doug Hammaker over the final laps. In fact, the three drivers were nearly three-wide in turns three and four of the final lap when the caution unfurled for Ryan Higgins, who was backwards in turn four.


On the final restart, Hinkle went low to hold off Leiby, allowing Hammaker to drive around the outside to take second place. The three leaders were under a blanket as the crossed under the checkered flag.


Fourth and fifth behind Hinkle, Hammaker, and Leiby were Adrian Shaffer and Eldreth.


Heats for the 27 358 sprinters were won by Troy Wagaman, Jr., Dwight Leppo, and Kyle Denmyer, with Jordon Givler winning the consolation.


Wagaman crashed into the outside wall after contact with Hammaker while running third on turn two of lap 17, and was done for the night.


Charles Potts led every lap from the pole in scoring his first career Lincoln win in the 20-lap 358 Precise Racing Series 358 late model feature.

He crossed 2.36 seconds in front of Jake Jones, with Randy Christine, Jr., Bobby Beard, and Shaun Jones completing the top five.


Heats for the 17 358 Late Models were won by Brad Shank and Sam Gallagher.


This Wednesday, June 8, the Amsoil USAC Sprints will be at Lincoln Speedway for a 30 lap feature and a make-up 25-lap feature from 2014. The 358 Sprints will round out the evening’s action, which gets underway at 7 PM with time trials. Gates open at 5 PM.


Then next Saturday, June 11, it will be a special night with the LEFFLER ENERGY “DIRT CLASSIC SHOWCASE” for 410 Sprints (qualifier for 9/24; $7,000 to win). Time trials set for 7:30 PM, gates opening at 5:30 PM.


Saturday, June 4, 2016


Abbottstown, PA


York County Racing Club Night

Lawrence Chevrolet 410 Sprints:

410 Sprint Feature (25 Laps) – 1. 88-Brandon Rahmer ($3,200); 2. 87-Alan Krimes; 3. 11C-Cory Haas; 4. 19M-Brent Marks; 5. 51-Freddie Rahmer; 6. 48-Danny Dietrich; 7. 55K-Robbie Kendall; 8. 52-Austin Hogue; 9. 21-Brian Montieth; 10. 2D-Chase Dietz; 11. 15-Adam Wilt; 12. 07-Doug Esh; 13. 59-Jim Siegel; 14. 2W-Glenndon Forsythe; 15. 99M-Kyle Moody; 16. 69-Shane Hoff; 17. 21T-Scott Fisher; 18. 39-Anthony Macri; 19. 10-Zach Eucalano (DNF); 20. 83-Cody Fairchok (DNF); 21. 1X-Chad Trout (DNF); 22. 12-Mike Bittinger (DNF); 23. 10K-Joe Kata, III (DNF); 24. 3B-Randy Baughman (DNF). No Time


Lap Leaders – Brandon Rahmer (1-25)


410 Sprint Heat One Finish (10 laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 87-Alan Krimes; 2. 21-Brian Montieth; 3. 48-Danny Dietrich; 4. 11C-Cory Haas; 5. 07-Doug Esh; 6. 59-Jim Siegel; 7. 1X-Chad Trout; 8. 83-Cody Fairchok; 9. 39-Anthony Macri. Time – 2:20.475


410 Sprint Heat Two Finish (10 laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 52-Austin Hogue; 2. 51-Freddie Rahmer; 3. 19M-Brent Marks; 4. 55K-Robbie Kendall; 5. 2D-Chase Dietz; 6. 99M-Kyle Moody; 7. 69-Shane Hoff; 8. 10-Zach Eucalano; 9. 3B-Randy Baughman (DNF). Time – 2:21.876


410 Sprint Heat Three Finish (10 laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 8-Billy Dietrich; 2. 2W-Glenndon Forsythe; 3. 88-Brandon Rahmer; 4. 10K-Joe Kata, III; 5. 15-Adam Wilt; 6. 12-Mike Bittinger; 7. 21T-Scott Fisher; 8. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr. (DNF); 9. 5-Tyler Ross (DNF). No Time

Keizer Aluminum Wheels 358 Sprints:

358 Sprint Feature (20 Laps) – 1. 19D-Wyatt Hinkle ($1,000); 2. 66-Doug Hammaker; 3. 119-Chandler Leiby; 4. 27S-Adrian Shaffer; 5. 23J-Jake Eldreth; 6. 4-Dwight Leppo; 7. 77-David Holbrook; 8. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 9. 12-Mike Bittinger; 10. 41-Jeff Halligan; 11. 35-Tyler Esh; 12. 12-Brent Shearer; 13. 97-Brie Hershey; 14. 18-Nyle Berkes; 15. 21-CJ Tracy; 16. 90-Jordon Givler; 17. 23-Chris Arnold; 18. 28-Matt Findley; 19. 7-Trey Hivner; 20. 38D-Kyle Denmyer; 21. 13-Ryan Higgins; 22. 19-Troy Wagaman, Jr. (DNF); 23. 16-Matt Campbell (DNF); 24. 66A-Cody Fletcher (DNF). No Time


Lap Leaders – Wyatt Hinkle (1-20)