Home Again & a Win for Marks

PORT ROYAL, Pa. (April 22, 2017) – Brent Marks of Myerstown took advantage of an unexpected break in his World of Outlaws sprint car schedule to invade Port Royal Speedway on Saturday night and ended up pealing some seven seconds off of the 25-lap track record on his way to a $3,200 payday.

Nicole Bower jumped from the pole to lead the 410 sprint car feature at the start chased by Curt Stroup and TJ Stutts.

Dale Blaney started seventh in the field and blistered into third on the second tour while Bower streaked away from the field, entering the backmarkers on the sixth circuit.

Blaney was on the move early, working the top and bottom of the track, but made his moves to get into control using the bottom groove.

He got by Stroup for second low in the first and second turns of lap nine and then deep in the third corner was where he overtook Bower for the lead as she worked traffic.

However Blaney wasn’t the only man on the move in what turned out to be a dizzying event that went non-stop as eighth starter Marks took the third spot from Bower on lap 12.

Marks was slinging his No. 19M all around the speedway, working traffic and the leaders at will and drove around Stroup for second with 10 laps to go.

He then spent the next five laps running down leader Blaney before blasting by for control and the victory with five laps left.

Marks then pulled away to the eighth win of his career at the track, taking the checkers 1.266 seconds ahead of Blaney to set a new 25-lap track record of 7:32.949, overtaking the old mark held by Lance Dewease since 1992.

Stroup held on for third followed by TJ Stutts and Ryan Taylor.

Sixth through 10th went to Brock Zearfoss, Doug Esh, Danny Dietrich, Dylan Cisney and Lucas Wolfe.

Heats went to Taylor, Stutts and Bower.

Feature Finish


Sprint Cars, 25 laps: 1. Brent Marks, 2. Dale Blaney, 3. Curt Stroup, 4. TJ Stutts, 5. Ryan Taylor, 6. Brock Zearfoss, 7. Doug Esh, 8. Danny Dietrich, 9. Dylan Cisney, 10. Lucas Wolfe, 11. Nicole Bower, 12. Logan Wagner, 13. Carl Bowser, 14. Matt Campbell, 15. Mike Wagner, 16. Rick Lafferty, 17. Kody Lehman, 18. Blane Heimbach, 19. Kevin Nouse, 20. Tyler Bear, 21. Danny Massey, 22. Eric Riggins Jr., 23. Daryl Stimeling, 24. James Pryde, 25. Anthony Fiore

DNQ: George Streaker, AJ Flick, George Streaker Jr., Dustin Baney

–From Port Royal PR