Jeffrey Invades Port Royal

PORT ROYAL, Pa. (March 25, 2017) – Lynton Jeffrey of Prairie City, Iowa, held off Dale Blaney to win Saturday’s 2017 season opener for sprint cars at Port Royal Speedway.

Jeffrey took home $3,500 for the victory after taking the lead early from Rick Lafferty.

Lafferty and Jeffrey started on the front row of the 410 sprint car main with Lafferty leading the first lap and Jeffrey in his shadow.

Jeffrey pulled the trigger on the second tour to grab command of the field before entering the backmarkers on the ninth lap.

Lafferty chased him into traffic, trying to keep pace before third starter Dale Blaney got around for second on the 17th tour.

Blaney then began slowly reeling in leader Jeffrey and with three to go he took his shot for the win.

He stuffed the Zemco No. 1 sprinter deep into the first corner and briefly took the lead before Jeffrey used the cushion to slingshot back around for the lead as the pair shot onto the backstretch.

And that took the wind out of Blaney’s sails as Jeffrey pulled out to a 1.025 second advantage at the finish to become the 188th different winner of a sprint car main in Port Royal history.

Greg Hodnett got by Lafferty for third with two laps to go, forcing Lafferty to finish fourth with Mike Wagner ending up fifth.

Sixth through 10th went to Doug Esh, Brock Zearfoss, Dylan Cisney, Mark Smith and TJ Stutts.

Heats went to Zearfoss and Stutts.

Stay up to date with all Port Royal news and information by visiting the oval’s official website at or by following the track on Facebook or Twitter.
Feature Finishes

Sprint Cars, 25 laps: 1. Lynton Jeffrey, 2. Dale Blaney, 3. Greg Hodnett, 4. Rick Lafferty, 5. Mike Wagner, 6. Doug Esh, 7. Brock Zearfoss, 8. Dylan Cisney, 9. Mark Smith, 10. TJ Stutts, 11. Logan Wagner, 12. Tyler Bear, 13. AJ Flick, 14. Kody Lehman, 15. Danny Massey, 16. George Streaker Jr.