It’s a Mad, Mad, Mad World in Ocala – Madsen Completes the Triple!

Lonnie Wheatley, OCALA, Fla. (February 8, 2015) – Kerry Madsen finished off a sweep of the weekend’s All Star Circuit of Champions set of events at Bubba Raceway Park by emerging atop a heated race with Chad Kemenah through heavy traffic to win Sunday’s 30-lap feature.

Madsen’s third $5,000 triumph of the weekend aboard the Tyler Swank-prepped American Racing No. 29 brought the Australian’s weekend take from Bubba land to $15,000.

Chad Kemenah very nearly denied the sweep though, briefly edging ahead upon the completion of lap 24, only to have Madsen charge back by on the top side to regain command for keeps in the Keneric Racing entry.

“Chad had me clean,” Madsen commented afterward. “I had one shot around the top and I made it.”

After successfully railing the topside of turns one and two and then making quick work of a pair of lapped cars on the 25th circuit, there was no stopping the Madman’s sprint to victory lane.

For the second night in a row, Madsen started the feature from the front row outside. And, once again, he gunned into the lead immediately as Danny Holtgraver slipped under pole starter Tim Shaffer at the start to nab second.

Kemenah was third behind Madsen and Holtgraver by the time the race’s final cautions flew after a pair of lap seven spins in turn four by Caleb Armstrong, then soon moved the Hunter No. 10h past Holtgraver into second.

The former All Star champ moved in to challenge on several occasions as Madsen struggled with traffic and finally found an opening to surge ahead as the leaders raced down the frontstretch on the 24th lap. It was a short-lived lead though, as Madsen responded in short order.

“Lapped traffic was difficult,” Madsen summed up in victory lane.

Kemenah was left to fight off Steve Kinser for runner-up honors while “The King of the Outlaws” took the show position for the second night in a row, this time after working forward from sixth. Reigning All Star champ Dale Blaney was fourth with Holtgraver rounding out the top five.

Kinser set Sunday’s quick time of 12.183 in qualifying before Wayne Johnson, Kemenah and Shaffer topped heat race action.

(Photo courtesy of Max Dolder)

All Star Circuit of Champions – Sunday, February 8, 2015 Results:

Qualifying: 1. 11-Steve Kinser 12.183, 2. 10h-Chad Kemenah 12.203, 3. 29-Kerry Madsen 12.214, 4. 7c-Caleb Armstrong 12.381, 5. 14k-Dale Blaney 12.440, 6. I07-Steve Buckwalter 12.453, 7. 77x-Wayne Johnson 12.482, 8. 1z-Lucas Wolfe 12.638, 9. 45-Tim Shaffer 12.675, 10. 59-Danny Holtgraver 12.681, 11. 55F-Taylor Ferns 12.785, 12. 14-Tyler Clem 12.947, 13. 4-Danny Smith 12.966, 14. 9p-Parker Price-Miller 12.991, 15. 13-Brandon Matus 13.184, 16. 49h-Brad Howard 13.189, 17. 71m-Paul May 13.488, 18. 33-Brent Matus 13.714, 19. 10-Terry Gray 14.071.

Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 77x-Wayne Johnson, 2. 59-Danny Holtgraver, 3. 11-Steve Kinser, 4. 7c-Caleb Armstrong, 5. 4-Danny Smith, 6. 49h-Brad Howard, 7. 10-Terry Gray.

Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 10h-Chad Kemenah, 2. 1z-Lucas Wolfe, 3. 55F-Taylor Ferns, 4. 14k-Dale Blaney, 5. 9p-Parker Price-Miller, 6. 71m-Paul May.

Heat Three (8 Laps): 1. 45-Tim Shaffer, 2. 29-Kerry Madsen, 3. 14-Tyler Clem, 4. I07-Steve Buckwalter, 5. 13-Brandon Matus, 6. 33-Brent Matus.

Dash (8 Laps): 1. 45-Tim Shaffer, 2. 29-Kerry Madsen, 3. 59-Danny Holtgraver, 4. 10h-Chad Kemenah, 5. 14k-Dale Blaney, 6. 11-Steve Kinser, 7. I07-Steve Buckwalter, 8. 77x-Wayne Johnson, 9. 1z-Lucas Wolfe.

“A” Main (30 Laps): 1. 29-Kerry Madsen (2), 2. 10h-Chad Kemenah (4), 3. 11-Steve Kinser (6), 4. 14k-Dale Blaney (5), 5. 59-Danny Holtgraver (3), 6. 45-Tim Shaffer (1), 7. 77x-Wayne Johnson (8), 8. 1z-Lucas Wolfe (9), 9. I07-Steve Buckwalter (7), 10. 9p-Parker Price-Miller (14), 11. 55F-Taylor Ferns (11), 12. 4-Danny Smith (13), 13. 71m-Paul May (17), 14. 13-Brandon Matus (15), 15. 49h-Brad Howard (16), 16. 7c-Caleb Armstrong (10), 17. 10-Terry Gray (19), 18. 14-Tyler Clem (12), 19. 33-Brent Matus (18).

Lap leaders: Kerry Madsen 1-23, Chad Kemenah 24, Madsen 25-30.