Short Track Nationals Around the Corner!

Lonnie Wheatley, LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (August 11, 2015) – While the summer heat is at its peak, it’s a bit hard to imagine that nip in the air that comes with fall. But it’s really not that far off at all.

And those closing months of the year mean one thing in the Sprint Car racing world; I-30 Speedway’s Short Track Nationals at the end of October.

The 28th edition of the prestigious event will be yet another barnburner, attracting the best in the business to the racy little, high-banked quarter-mile clay oval in Little Rock, Arkansas.

This year’s edition of the COMP Cams Short Track Nationals presented by Hoosier Tires, set for October 29-31, will once again offer up a lucrative $15,000 winner’s share.

With the STN championship feature purse fine-tuned, the $2,000-to-start finale includes $3,750 for fifth and $3.000 to finish tenth. The full feature purse for this year’s event after the $15,000 first place finish is $8,000 for second, $5,000 for third, $4,000 for fourth, $3,750 for fifth and then $3,500, $3,400, $3,200, $3,100 and $3000 for the balance of the top ten with $2,800, $2,600, $2,600, $2,400, $2,200 and $2,100 for the next handful of positions with $2,000 for the balance of the starting field.

The Short Track Nationals will once again feature qualifying nights with split fields on Thursday and Friday, October 29-30, that will set the stage for the October 31 STN championship finale. The top three feature finishers from the Thursday and Friday qualifying events will lock into the Saturday night finale.

As if those three nights of intense STN action weren’t already enough, this year will once again kick off with the Short Track Nationals Open on Wednesday night, October 28. The $2,000-to-win, $200-to-start event will again offer up the option for a provisional to the top four feature finishers.

Dixon Road U-Pull-It offers up a $1,500 bonus if the Wednesday night winner also tops the Saturday night finale.

Entry fee for the 28th Annual COMP Cams Short Track Nationals presented by Hoosier Tires is $150 if postmarked by October 19 with entries $250 after that date. There is no entry fee for the Wednesday night Short Track Nationals Open.

Last October, Norman, Oklahoma’s, Christopher Bell became the youngest winner of the premier 360-ci Sprint Car event by taking the checkered flag in the 40-lapper after taking command following a mid-race restart. Bell raced on to victory lane ahead of current ASCS National Tour points leader Aaron Reutzel with the rest of a powerful top five including Brian Brown, Wayne Johnson and Kevin Swindell.

Bell joined a prestigious list of STN champions that includes names synonymous with Sprint Car racing like Kinser and Swindell among others.

While Bell became the 17th different winner of the event, Hooks, TX Hall-of-Famer Gary Wright ranks as the only four-time winner with victories in 2004, 2003, 1999 and 1995 with other multiple victories going to Sammy Swindell (1990, 2001 and 2013), Steve Kinser (1988, 1989 and 1991), Tony Bruce, Jr. (2008 and 2009) and Paul McMahan (2002 and 2012).

Along with Bell, other single-time STN champs include Brad Sweet (2010), Jason Meyers (2007), Jason Johnson (2006), Tim Montgomery (2005), Jason Sides (2001), Mike Ward (2000), Tim Crawley (1998), Wayne Johnson (1997), Pete Butler (1996), Terry Gray (1994) and John Gerloff (1993). The 1992 edition fell victim to rain. For more information regarding the 28th Annual COMP Cams Short Track Nationals presented by Hoosier Tires, check online at or contact I-30 Speedway at 501-455-4567.

(Photo courtesy of Mike Spivey)