The Grove Set for 76th Season this Friday Night

Williams Grove Opens with 410 Sprints And Super Late Models March 27

Mechanicsburg –Williams Grove Speedway will open the 2015 racing season this Friday night, March 27 at 7:30 pm with a good old fashioned Williams Grove twinbill of Lawrence Chevrolet 410 sprints and super late models.

Fireworks will help bring in the season of professional, local dirt track auto racing at Williams Grove.

Full programs of heat races and features for each division is on the agenda with the 410 sprints racing for $3,600 to win.

Adult general admission for the prestigious season opener is set at just $15 with youth ages 12 – 20 admitted for just $10.

The Williams Grove portion of the 50/50 drawing on the night will be donated to Wounded Warriors.

Last year, Gerard McIntyre Jr. held off the furious charges of Stevie Smith and Brian Montieth to win the 2014 season opener for the 410 sprints on March 28.

Since 1939 when Tommy Hinnershitz won the inaugural race at the famed facility, so many highly recognized names and even some not so much have scored the prestigious first Williams Grove race of the year.

Well-knowns or on their way up the ladder at the time of their victories were the likes of Jan Opperman, AJ Foyt, Ted Horn and Hinnershitz.

Kasey Kahne, destined for bigger and better things in todays NASCAR arena, took the opener back in 2000.

But perhaps lesser-known at the time or even unique names like Kevin Collins, Brian Paulus, Marlett Naill and Gig Stephens have also taken that famous first checkered flag of the year at Williams Grove.

Since the dawning of the decade in 2010, opening day winners at Williams Grove have been: Fred Rahmer, 2010 and 2013; Stevie Smith, 2011; and Danny Dietirch, 2012.

Greg Hodnett, the defending Williams Grove track champion, has a pair of opening day victories to his credit at the track, coming back in 2002 and in 2004 and in fact the Thomasville speedster has already won in the area this season.

Williams Grove Speedway will return to action on April 3 at 7:30 pm with a program of 410 sprints and super sportsman.

The kickoff of the 2015 Saturday Night Series featuring the super sportsman is slated for Saturday, May 2.

Keep up to date on all the latest speedway news and information by visiting the oval’s official website at or by keeping up with the oval on Facebook or Twitter.


2014 Gerard McIntyre Jr.
2013 Fred Rahmer
2012 Danny Dietrich
2011 Stevie Smith
2010 Fred Rahmer
2009 Todd Shaffer
2008 Fred Rahmer
2007 Mike Erdley
2006 Lance Dewease
2005 Fred Rahmer
2004 Greg Hodnett
2003 Cris Eash
2002 Greg Hodnett
2001 Don Kreitz Jr.
2000 Kasey Kahne
1999 Brian Paulus
1998 Fred Rahmer
1997 Fred Rahmer
1996 Kevin Gobrecht
1995 Lance Dewease
1994 Don Kreitz Jr.
1993 Keith Kauffman
1992 Don Kreitz Jr.
1991 Steve Smith
1990 Kenny Adams
1989 Stevie Smith
1988 Kenny Jacobs
1987 Cris Eash
1986 Keith Kauffman
1985 Keith Kauffman
1984 Keith Kauffman
1983 Kevin Collins
1982 Bobby Allen
1981 Lynn Paxton
1980 Lynn Paxton
1979 Kramer Williamson
1978 Bobby Allen
1977 Paul Pitzer
1976 Steve Smith
1975 Jan Opperman
1974 Kramer Williamson
1973 Jan Opperman
1972 Smokey Snellbaker
1971 Kenny Weld
1970 Jan Opperman
1969 Ray Tilley
1968 Kenny Weld
1967 Bobbie Adamson
1966 Leroy Felty
1965 Ray Tilley
1964 A.J. Foyt
1963 Don Branson
1962 Dick Tobias
1961 Leroy Felty
1960 Gig Stephens
1959 Frankie Thompson
1958 John Thompson
1957 Johnny Mackison Sr.
1956 Johnny Mackison Sr.
1955 Marlett Naill
1954 Johnny Thompson
1953 Jimmy Bryan
1952 Tommy Hinnershitz
1951 Troy Ruttman
1950 Bill Schindler
1949 Tommy Hinnershitz
1948 Ted Horn
1947 Ted Horn
1946 Walt Ader
1945 Ted Horn
1941 Vic Nauman
1940 Mark Light
1939 Tommy Hinnershitz